Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 06:13 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 06:13 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 14 days:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 349 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 724 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1647 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3892 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 14 days, there were 4 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 36 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 349 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 724 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1647 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3892 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.8 | North Atlantic Ocean -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.5 | South Atlantic Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours173 quakes | 106 quakes M3+ | 55 quakes M4+ | 11 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 7 days1,110 quakes | 722 quakes M3+ | 348 quakes M4+ | 36 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+
Past 30 days7,899 quakes | 6,122 quakes M3+ | 1,616 quakes M4+ | 143 quakes M5+ | 15 quakes M6+ | 3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days18,137 quakes | 13,682 quakes M3+ | 4,021 quakes M4+ | 403 quakes M5+ | 27 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+
Past 365 days66,051 quakes | 48,713 quakes M3+ | 15,501 quakes M4+ | 1,696 quakes M5+ | 130 quakes M6+ | 11 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 4.8 or higher (20 out of 6652 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 04:45 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 2:45 am (GMT -2)
4.8

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 04:17 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 1:17 pm (GMT +9)
4.9

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 04:11 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 3:11 am (GMT -1)
5.4

10 km
South Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 04:08 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 2:08 am (GMT -2)
5.0

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 03:03 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 2:03 am (GMT -1)
6.5

11 km
South Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 02:24 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 12:24 am (GMT -2)
5.1

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 00:38 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 10:38 pm (GMT -2)
4.9

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 22:34 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 3:34 pm (GMT -7)
5.5

10 km
North Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 21:41 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 7:41 am (GMT +10)
5.1

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 246 km northeast of Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 19:48 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 3:48 pm (GMT -4)
5.0

28 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 94 km northeast of Saint John, Antigua & Barbuda
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 17:35 GMT
Sep 29, 2022 3:35 am (GMT +10)
5.1

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 241 km northeast of Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 14:13 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 12:13 pm (GMT -2)
5.1

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:03 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 8:03 am (GMT -2)
5.1

9.8 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 07:59 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 5:59 am (GMT -2)
4.9

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 06:46 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 4:46 am (GMT -2)
5.0

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 06:34 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 4:34 am (GMT -2)
5.2

67 km
South Sandwich Islands Region
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 04:47 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 3:47 pm (GMT +11)
5.4

10 km
New Caledonia: Southeast of the Loyalty Islands
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 01:43 GMT
Sep 27, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT -2)
4.8

10 km
Reykjanes Ridge
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 01:18 GMT
Sep 27, 2022 7:18 pm (GMT -6)
5.1

5 km
Mexico: 100 Km Al SURESTE De SANTA ROSALIA, BCS
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 01:12 GMT
Sep 28, 2022 9:12 am (GMT +8)
5.2

35 km
Mindanao, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.2 x 1014 joules (116 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1 x 105 tons of TNT or 6.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings