Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 28, 2021 14:11 GMT

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Sep 28, 2021 14:11 GMT
Updated Sep 28, 2021 14:11 GMT -
During the past 2 days, there were 6 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 84 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 275 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 625 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 956 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.9 quake Molucca Sea, 241 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, Sep 28, 2021 7:10 pm (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 4.5 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, Sep 29, 2021 2:30 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 1946 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 13:30 GMT (20 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 13:30 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 2:30 am (GMT +13)
4.5

269 km
43 km (27 mi) South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 13:12 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 8:12 am (GMT -5)
4.2

138 km
137 km (85 mi) Jesus Carranza, 66 km south of Acayucan, Veracruz, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 12:48 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 8:48 pm (GMT +8)
3.8

19 km
61 km (38 mi) Savu Sea, 54 km northwest of Kefamenanu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 12:09 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 3:09 pm (GMT +3)
3.9

9.7 km
120 km (75 mi) 23 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 78 reports
More
Sep 28, 2021 11:46 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 2:46 pm (GMT +3)
4.4

10 km
360 km (224 mi) Khanaqin District, 46 km east of Kifrī, Diyāla, Iraq
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 28, 2021 11:34 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 8:34 pm (GMT +9)
3.6

150 km
614 km (382 mi) South Pacific Ocean, 37 km northwest of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 11:10 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 7:10 pm (GMT +8)
4.9

100 km
91 km (57 mi) Molucca Sea, 241 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 11:10 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 7:10 pm (GMT +8)
4.9

10 km
430 km (267 mi) 284 km south of Kumul, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 11:06 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 8:06 am (GMT -3)
4.0

50 km
363 km (226 mi) 53 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 10:15 GMT
Sep 27, 2021 10:15 pm (GMT -12)
4.9

33 km
247 km (153 mi) South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:56 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 2:56 am (GMT -7)
3.6

2 km
90 km (56 mi) Gulf of California, 48 km southeast of San Felipe, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:19 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 6:19 pm (GMT +9)
4.0

10 km
127 km (79 mi) Molucca Sea, 134 km west of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:18 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 2:18 am (GMT -7)
3.9

2 km
95 km (59 mi) Gulf of California, 52 km southeast of San Felipe, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:12 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 2:42 pm (GMT +5:30)
3.9

15 km
784 km (487 mi) 10.4 km southeast of Hasanpur, Amroha district, Uttar Pradesh, India
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:11 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 5:11 pm (GMT +8)
3.6

10 km
82 km (51 mi) 39 km south of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 09:11 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 3:11 am (GMT -6)
3.8

16 km
278 km (173 mi) North Pacific Ocean, 104 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 08:58 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 11:58 am (GMT +3)
4.2

10 km
362 km (225 mi) Khanaqin District, 46 km east of Kifrī, Diyāla, Iraq
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 08:50 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 1:50 am (GMT -7)
4.0

16 km
90 km (56 mi) North Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of Bahia Tortugas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2021 08:34 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 11:34 am (GMT +3)
3.6

15 km
164 km (102 mi) 21 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 28, 2021 08:30 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 4:30 pm (GMT +8)
4.0

10 km
380 km (236 mi) 15 km southwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.6 x 1012 joules (1.56 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1340 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.