Help Ukraine

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 23, 2022 03:39 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated May 23, 2022 03:39 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 35 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 131 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 226 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 508 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 3 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 35 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 131 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 226 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 508 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in Takhar, Afghanistan, 20 minutes ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 52 km N of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.3 | 54 km SE of Taloqan, Tāluqān, Takhar, Afghanistan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours:171 quakes | 131 quakes M3+ | 35 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Strongest quake: Mag. 6.3 on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 7:06 pm (GMT +12)South Pacific Ocean
Past 7 days:1,128 quakes | 819 quakes M3+ | 269 quakes M4+ | 36 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+
Past 30 days:4,788 quakes | 3,478 quakes M3+ | 1,162 quakes M4+ | 139 quakes M5+ | 9 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:15,397 quakes | 10,990 quakes M3+ | 3,908 quakes M4+ | 465 quakes M5+ | 32 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+
Past 365 days:62,731 quakes | 45,950 quakes M3+ | 14,742 quakes M4+ | 1,898 quakes M5+ | 128 quakes M6+ | 13 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.3 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, May 23, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
May 23, 2022 03:23 GMT
May 23, 2022 3:23 pm (GMT +12)
3.1

5 km
52 km north of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
May 23, 2022 03:22 GMT
May 23, 2022 6:22 am (GMT +3)
1.6

5.4 km
3.5 km northwest of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
May 23, 2022 03:22 GMT
May 22, 2022 7:22 pm (GMT -8)
1.4

34 km
Southern Alaska More
May 23, 2022 03:19 GMT
May 23, 2022 7:49 am (GMT +4:30)
4.3

230 km
54 km southeast of Taloqan, Tāluqān, Takhar, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
More
May 23, 2022 03:16 GMT
May 23, 2022 4:16 am (GMT +1)
1.8

6 km
47 km east of Arona, Province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain More
May 23, 2022 03:10 GMT
May 23, 2022 4:10 am (GMT +1)
2.3

2 km
Alboran Sea, 28 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
May 23, 2022 03:04 GMT
May 22, 2022 10:04 pm (GMT -5)
2.9

4.2 km
Departamento del Caqueta, 50 km east of Neiva, Departamento del Huila, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
May 23, 2022 03:02 GMT
May 23, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT +10)
2.5

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan More
May 23, 2022 02:54 GMT
May 23, 2022 2:54 am (GMT +0)
1.5
São Jorge Island, 2 km east of Velas, Azores, Portugal More
May 23, 2022 02:43 GMT
May 23, 2022 5:43 am (GMT +3)
1.6

12 km
14 km southwest of Chalcis, Euboea, Central Greece More
May 23, 2022 02:42 GMT
May 23, 2022 2:42 pm (GMT +12)
2.3

178 km
20 km south of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
May 23, 2022 02:40 GMT
May 22, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
21 mi east of Haller, Snohomish County, Washington, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT
More
May 23, 2022 02:38 GMT
May 22, 2022 8:38 pm (GMT -6)
3.5

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
May 23, 2022 02:37 GMT
May 23, 2022 2:37 am (GMT +0)
2.2

8 km
São Jorge Island, 5.1 km east of Velas, Azores, Portugal More
May 23, 2022 02:37 GMT
May 23, 2022 5:37 am (GMT +3)
2.3

7.6 km
Aegean Sea, 69 km southwest of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
May 23, 2022 02:37 GMT
May 23, 2022 12:37 pm (GMT +10)
?

n/a
0.6 km northeast of Foster, South Gippsland, Victoria, Australia (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1011 joules (60.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 51.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel