Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 25, 2022 12:31 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Sep 25, 2022 12:31 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 75 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 189 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 376 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 36 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 75 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 189 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 376 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 5.5 earthquake occurred in Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 1 hour and 15 minutes ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.8 | Banda Sea, Indonesia -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.5 | Philippine Sea, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours115 quakes | 75 quakes M3+ | 36 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,087 quakes | 714 quakes M3+ | 339 quakes M4+ | 29 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 30 days4,908 quakes | 3,502 quakes M3+ | 1,256 quakes M4+ | 131 quakes M5+ | 16 quakes M6+ | 3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,470 quakes | 10,569 quakes M3+ | 3,481 quakes M4+ | 388 quakes M5+ | 28 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+
Past 365 days62,402 quakes | 45,594 quakes M3+ | 14,984 quakes M4+ | 1,684 quakes M5+ | 129 quakes M6+ | 11 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.3 or higher (20 out of 680 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, September 25, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Sep 25, 2022 12:13 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 9:13 pm (GMT +9)
4.8

174 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 12:02 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 6:32 pm (GMT +6:30)
4.3

27 km
Bay of Bengal, 116 km southwest of Prome, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 11:38 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 5:38 am (GMT -6)
4.2

56 km
North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 11:36 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 10:36 pm (GMT +11)
4.5

128 km
Coral Sea, Solomon Islands, 244 km northwest of Sola, Torba, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 11:19 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 6:19 am (GMT -5)
4.0

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 40 km west of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 11:16 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 7:16 pm (GMT +8)
5.5

113 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 10:39 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 8:39 pm (GMT +10)
3.3

162 km
Sea of Okhotsk, 27 km northeast of Yuzhno-Kurilsk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 10:38 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 7:38 am (GMT -3)
3.3

32 km
47 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 10:03 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 11:03 pm (GMT +13)
3.9

33 km
393 km northeast of Hicks Bay, Gisborne District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 09:54 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 4:54 am (GMT -5)
4.0

10 km
24 km southeast of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 25, 2022 09:13 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 5:13 am (GMT -4)
4.2

5 km
14 km west of Miragoâne, Miragoane, Département de Nippes, Haiti
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 09:09 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 5:09 pm (GMT +8)
3.6

10 km
48 km southwest of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 09:00 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT +6)
3.6

10 km
39 km south of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 08:37 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 2:37 am (GMT -6)
3.7

10 km
7 km southwest of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 08:28 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 5:28 am (GMT -3)
3.4

107 km
20 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 07:03 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 3:03 pm (GMT +8)
3.7

10 km
Kazakhstan, 81 km south of Qapqal, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 06:57 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -4)
4.0

124 km
26 km north of Higuey, Provincia de La Altagracia, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 06:41 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 2:41 pm (GMT +8)
3.5

10 km
92 km north of Baijiantan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 06:18 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 8:18 am (GMT +2)
3.7

5.9 km
22 km east of Sallanches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France
I FELT IT - 252 reports
More
Sep 25, 2022 06:10 GMT
Sep 25, 2022 9:40 am (GMT +3:30)
4.3

9 km
61 km northeast of Rāvar, Kerman, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1013 joules (3.76 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3237 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings