Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Sep 21, 2021 05:50 GMT -
During 2020, there were 8 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 115 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 1689 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 12720 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 38963 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 85247 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 208207 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 6.7 quake South Pacific Ocean, 145 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile, Dec 27, 2020 4:39 pm (GMT -5)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 346949 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 11:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 29, 2020 11:19 GMT
Dec 29, 2020 12:19 pm (GMT +1)
6.4

10 km
504 km (313 mi) Petrinja, Central Croatia 5714 reportsMore
Sunday, December 27, 2020 21:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 27, 2020 21:39 GMT
Dec 27, 2020 4:39 pm (GMT -5)
6.7

27 km
248 km (154 mi) South Pacific Ocean, 145 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 64 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2020 07:11 GMT
Dec 27, 2020 2:11 am (GMT -5)
6.0

41 km
114 km (71 mi) South Pacific Ocean, 117 km southeast of San Juan de Marcona, Nazca, Ica, Peru 3 reportsMore
Thursday, December 24, 2020 23:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 24, 2020 23:43 GMT
Dec 25, 2020 7:43 am (GMT +8)
6.3

121 km
77 km (48 mi) South China Sea, 17 km south of Balayan, Philippines 921 reportsMore
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 18:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 18:11 GMT
Dec 24, 2020 3:11 am (GMT +9)
6.0

10 km
803 km (499 mi) Philippine Sea, 98 km southwest of Angaur Island, State of Angaur, Palau 77 reportsMore
Sunday, December 20, 2020 17:23 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 20, 2020 17:23 GMT
Dec 21, 2020 3:23 am (GMT +10)
6.3

35 km
141 km (88 mi) North Pacific Ocean, 98 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 11 reportsMore
Tuesday, December 15, 2020 23:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 15, 2020 23:21 GMT
Dec 16, 2020 7:21 am (GMT +8)
6.2

24 km
118 km (73 mi) Philippine Sea, 15 km southwest of Sarangani, Davao Occidental, Philippines 44 reportsMore
Monday, December 14, 2020 15:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 14, 2020 15:20 GMT
Dec 14, 2020 12:20 pm (GMT -3)
6.0

109 km
20 km (12 mi) 76 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile 8 reportsMore
Thursday, December 10, 2020 20:42 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 10, 2020 20:42 GMT
Dec 10, 2020 8:42 am (GMT -12)
6.3

33 km
163 km (101 mi) South Pacific Ocean, 666 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 3 reportsMore
Dec 10, 2020 13:19 GMT
Dec 10, 2020 9:19 pm (GMT +8)
6.1

67 km
23 km (14 mi) - 26 km E of Yilan, Taiwan 61 reportsMore
Sunday, December 6, 2020 16:47 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 6, 2020 16:47 GMT
Dec 6, 2020 1:47 pm (GMT -3)
6.1

108 km
98 km (61 mi) 31 Km Al NE De Pica, Chile 20 reportsMore
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 20:52 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 1, 2020 20:52 GMT
Dec 2, 2020 6:52 am (GMT +10)
6.0

10 km
623 km (387 mi)Balleny Islands Region More
Dec 1, 2020 16:22 GMT
Dec 1, 2020 7:22 am (GMT -9)
6.4

23 km
48 km (30 mi) Bering Sea, 28 mi southeast of Nikolski, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA 4 reportsMore
Monday, November 30, 2020 22:55 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 30, 2020 22:55 GMT
Nov 30, 2020 7:55 pm (GMT -3)
6.3

175 km
68 km (42 mi) 78 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina 18 reportsMore
Nov 30, 2020 22:54 GMT
Dec 1, 2020 7:54 am (GMT +9)
6.4

585 km
292 km (181 mi) Primor'ye, Russia 5 reportsMore
Sunday, November 22, 2020 00:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2020 00:54 GMT
Nov 21, 2020 7:54 pm (GMT -5)
6.1

41 km
240 km (149 mi) 98 Km Al NO De ConstituciĆ³n, Chile 132 reportsMore
Sunday, November 15, 2020 22:37 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 15, 2020 22:37 GMT
Nov 16, 2020 6:37 am (GMT +8)
6.0

45 km
138 km (86 mi) Philippine Sea, 19 km southeast of Marihatag, Philippines 66 reportsMore
Saturday, November 7, 2020 09:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 7, 2020 09:27 GMT
Nov 7, 2020 10:27 pm (GMT +13)
6.2

64 km
26 km (16 mi) Tonga Islands 11 reportsMore
Friday, November 6, 2020 23:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 6, 2020 23:49 GMT
Nov 6, 2020 8:49 pm (GMT -3)
6.0

15 km
19 km (12 mi) South Shetland Islands, Antarctica 2 reportsMore
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 02:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 3, 2020 02:40 GMT
Nov 2, 2020 9:40 pm (GMT -5)
6.0

10 km
488 km (303 mi) - Off the coast of Aisen, Chile 2 reportsMore
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1015 joules (870 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7.5 x 105 tons of TNT or 46.8 atomic bombs!) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.