Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 26, 2022 10:17 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Jan 26, 2022 10:17 GMT -
During Dec 2021, there were 2 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 12 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 153 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1519 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 4269 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8970 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 20478 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 7.3 quake Banda Sea, 122 km northeast of Lospalos, Municipio de Lautem, Timor-Leste, Dec 30, 2021 3:25 am (GMT +9)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Hide 6 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 35403 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 19:27 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 31, 2021 19:27 GMT
Dec 31, 2021 11:27 am (GMT -8)
3.5

15 km
3km SW of Redlands, CA 135 reportsMore
Dec 31, 2021 18:26 GMT
Dec 31, 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -5)
?

n/a
USA (unconfirmed) 191 reportsMore
Dec 31, 2021 13:59 GMT
Dec 31, 2021 10:59 am (GMT -3)
4.3

9.8 km
38 Km NW of Villa Mercedes, Argentina 25 reportsMore
Thursday, December 30, 2021 20:52 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Dec 30, 2021 20:52 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 1:52 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
USA (unconfirmed) 75 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2021 19:11 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 2:11 pm (GMT -5)
2.4

3.8 km
6 Km ESE of Elgin, South Carolina 27 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2021 13:13 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 10:13 pm (GMT +9)
5.4

60 km
Indonesia: Southern Molucca Sea 1 reportMore
Dec 30, 2021 12:11 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 7:11 am (GMT -5)
2.5

2.5 km
6 Km E of Elgin, South Carolina 24 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2021 11:31 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 1:31 pm (GMT +2)
?

n/a
Namibia (unconfirmed) 86 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2021 06:47 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 2:47 pm (GMT +8)
5.2

15 km
79 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan 12 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2021 04:58 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 2:58 am (GMT -2)
5.7

37 km
South Sandwich Islands Region More
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 23:06 GMT (10 earthquakes)
Dec 29, 2021 23:06 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 1:06 am (GMT +2)
4.2

15 km
Greece: 7 Km SW From Arkalochori 30 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 19:25 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 4:55 am (GMT +9:30)
?

n/a
Near Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia (unconfirmed) 23 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 19:08 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 12:38 am (GMT +5:30)
4.1

10 km
India: Pithoragarh, Uttarakhand 36 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 18:25 GMT
Dec 30, 2021 3:25 am (GMT +9)
7.3

167 km
Indonesia: 121 Km NNE of Lospalos, Timor Leste 1245 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 16:45 GMT
Dec 29, 2021 6:45 pm (GMT +2)
5.4

5 km
Greece: 127 Km S From Ierapetra 27 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 09:12 GMT
Dec 29, 2021 4:12 am (GMT -5)
2.3

1.6 km
6 Km E of Elgin, South Carolina 22 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.7 x 1015 joules (1586 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.4 x 106 tons of TNT or 85.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel