Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 6, 2021 19:09 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Dec 6, 2021 19:09 GMT -
On 24 Nov 2021, there were 7 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 36 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 103 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 276 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 461 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.0 quake Coral Sea, 39 km northeast of Lata, Solomon Islands, Nov 25, 2021 10:12 am (GMT +11)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 883 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 23:30 GMT (20 earthquakes)
Nov 24, 2021 23:30 GMT
Nov 25, 2021 4:30 am (GMT +5)
4.7

309 km
Arabian Sea, India More
Nov 24, 2021 23:26 GMT
Nov 25, 2021 12:26 pm (GMT +13)
4.2

260 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Nov 24, 2021 23:14 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -3)
4.6

100 km
Tamarugal, 114 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile 2 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2021 23:12 GMT
Nov 25, 2021 10:12 am (GMT +11)
5.0

156 km
Coral Sea, 39 km northeast of Lata, Solomon Islands More
Nov 24, 2021 22:57 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 4:57 pm (GMT -6)
4.1

103 km
Villa Comaltitlán, 44 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico More
Nov 24, 2021 22:40 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 10:40 pm (GMT +0)
?

n/a
10.6 km northwest of Salisbury, Wiltshire, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2021 22:20 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 4:20 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

7 km
Santa Maria Colotepec, 22 km east of Puerto Escondido, Mexico More
Nov 24, 2021 22:03 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 5:03 pm (GMT -5)
4.5

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 81 km northwest of Concepcion, Region del Biobio, Chile 4 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2021 21:58 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 5:58 pm (GMT -4)
3.4

27 km
Venezuela: 39 Km Al Norte De Guiria More
Nov 24, 2021 21:56 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 1:56 pm (GMT -8)
3.1

7 km
Mexico: 73 Km Al NOROESTE De SAN FELIPE, BC More
Nov 24, 2021 21:53 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 6:53 pm (GMT -3)
4.2

40 km
OFFSHORE COQUIMBO, CHILE More
Nov 24, 2021 21:51 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 5:51 pm (GMT -4)
3.0

8.4 km
Venezuela: 79 Km Al Suroeste De Machiques More
Nov 24, 2021 21:45 GMT
Nov 25, 2021 4:45 am (GMT +7)
3.6

16 km
Southern Sumatra, Indonesia More
Nov 24, 2021 20:56 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 9:56 pm (GMT +1)
3.6

21 km
Near Algiers, Alger, Algeria 68 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2021 20:43 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 2:43 pm (GMT -6)
4.1

11 km
Mexico: 63 Km Al SURESTE De CRUCECITA, OAX More
Nov 24, 2021 20:27 GMT
Nov 25, 2021 3:27 am (GMT +7)
3.6

10 km
Southern Sumatra, Indonesia More
Nov 24, 2021 20:13 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 10:13 am (GMT -10)
3.3

10 km
246 Km SE of Chiniak, Alaska More
Nov 24, 2021 20:11 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 2:11 pm (GMT -6)
3.2

13 km
Mexico: 4 Km Al SUR De COLIMA, COL More
Nov 24, 2021 20:09 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 2:09 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

10 km
Mexico: 26 Km Al SURESTE De ACAPULCO, GRO More
Nov 24, 2021 20:07 GMT
Nov 24, 2021 2:07 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

10 km
Mexico: 25 Km Al OESTE De SAN MARCOS, GRO More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1012 joules (1.13 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 974 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel