Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 18, 2021 01:58 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Oct 18, 2021 01:58 GMT -
During Sep 2021, there were 1 quake of magnitude , 9 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 149 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1129 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3492 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8015 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16068 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 6.1 quake Japan Sea, 269 km northwest of Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan, Sep 29, 2021 5:37 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 28863 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 22:10 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 22:10 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 10:10 pm (GMT +0)
3.2

5.8 km
4 km (2.5 mi) Iceland: 0.7 Km SSW of Keilir 13 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 19:42 GMT
Oct 1, 2021 1:12 am (GMT +5:30)
?

n/a
1733 km (1077 mi) 1.8 km east of Bijapur, Vijayapura, Karnataka, India (unconfirmed) 35 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 19:07 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
145 km (90 mi) Coastal Waters Of Southeast Alaska And British Columbia, 23 km southwest of Langford, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed) 24 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 13:04 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 5:34 pm (GMT +4:30)
5.3

245 km
378 km (235 mi) Darāyim, 25 km southwest of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan More
Sep 30, 2021 12:45 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 5:45 am (GMT -7)
3.2

9.3 km
59 km (37 mi) 2.3 mi east of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA 148 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 12:07 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 11:07 pm (GMT +11)
5.1

172 km
52 km (32 mi) Coral Sea, 44 km west of Sola, Torba, Vanuatu More
Sep 30, 2021 08:45 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 5:45 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

60 km
113 km (70 mi) North Pacific Ocean, 59 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan 2 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 05:42 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 8:42 am (GMT +3)
3.6

10.7 km
150 km (93 mi) 24 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 72 reportsMore
Sep 30, 2021 01:52 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 1:52 am (GMT +0)
3.7

6.6 km
4 km (2.5 mi) Iceland: 0.8 Km SW of Keilir 64 reportsMore
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 22:22 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Sep 29, 2021 22:22 GMT
Sep 30, 2021 1:22 am (GMT +3)
4.2

4.9 km
12 km (7.5 mi) Aegean Sea, 48 km south of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece 12 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 14:20 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 4:20 pm (GMT +2)
3.6

10.8 km
449 km (279 mi) 35 km northwest of Treviso, Veneto, Italy 15 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 12:09 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 3:09 pm (GMT +3)
2.3

14 km
124 km (77 mi) 20 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 18 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 11:54 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT +3)
4.6

17 km
141 km (88 mi) 21 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 298 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 08:37 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 5:37 pm (GMT +9)
6.1

366 km
312 km (194 mi) Japan Sea, 269 km northwest of Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan 29 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 07:53 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 4:53 am (GMT -3)
4.8

19 km
67 km (42 mi) Mendoza Province, Argentina 131 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 06:16 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 11:16 pm (GMT -7)
2.8

8.7 km
254 km (158 mi) North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi southwest of Watsonville, Santa Cruz County, California, USA 12 reportsMore
Sep 29, 2021 05:36 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 3:36 am (GMT -2)
5.1

10 km
62 km (39 mi) South Sandwich Islands Region More
Sep 29, 2021 04:06 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 7:06 am (GMT +3)
3.2

19 km
137 km (85 mi) 20 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 35 reportsMore
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 18:56 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 18:56 GMT
Sep 28, 2021 9:56 pm (GMT +3)
3.0

8.8 km
133 km (83 mi) 19 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 36 reportsMore
Sep 28, 2021 17:26 GMT
Sep 29, 2021 6:26 am (GMT +13)
5.5

300 km
102 km (63 mi)New Zealand 1 reportMore
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1014 joules (32.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 27753 tons of TNT or 1.7 atomic bombs!) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.