Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 22:11 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 22:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Thursday, September 22nd, 2022:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 70 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Thursday, September 22nd, 2022, there were 7 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 16 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 70 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | East China Sea, 179 km W of Naha, Okinawa, Japan -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (13 out of 98 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 22, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Sep 22, 2022 23:56 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 2:56 am (GMT +3)
3.7

5 km
11 km northwest of Kırşehir, Turkey
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 22, 2022 23:52 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 4:22 am (GMT +4:30)
4.4

122 km
Badakhshan, 222 km northeast of Kabul, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 23:10 GMT
Sep 22, 2022 6:10 pm (GMT -5)
4.1

18 km
South Pacific Ocean, 139 km southwest of Trujillo, La Libertad, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 23:09 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 7:09 am (GMT +8)
4.1

10 km
Indian Ocean, 176 km south of Lumajang, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:39 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 7:39 am (GMT +9)
3.5

32 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:36 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 6:36 am (GMT +8)
4.2

10 km
58 km southeast of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:36 GMT
Sep 22, 2022 2:36 pm (GMT -8)
?

n/a
58 km southwest of Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 6 reports
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:31 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 10:31 am (GMT +12)
4.5

300 km
704 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:30 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 7:30 am (GMT +9)
3.5

77 km
North Pacific Ocean, 53 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:29 GMT
Sep 22, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT -6)
3.0

32 km
15 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:19 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 7:19 am (GMT +9)
4.6

10 km
East China Sea, 179 km west of Naha, Okinawa, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:16 GMT
Sep 23, 2022 6:16 am (GMT +8)
4.4

10 km
Indian Ocean, 166 km south of Lumajang, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 22:07 GMT
Sep 22, 2022 5:07 pm (GMT -5)
3.5

7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 239 km northwest of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1012 joules (478 megawatt hours, equivalent to 411 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings