Get our newsletter!
Voyages aux volcans actifs !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Départs garantis:
30 mars - 6 avril 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 mai 2019: Du Krakatau à Bali - Java (Indonésie)
4-11(12) mai 2019: Fascinant Volcan et la Légende de l'Atlantide - Île de Santorin, Grèce
4-12 mai 2019: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
18-26 mai 2019: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
25 mai - 1 juin 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 juin 2019: Expédition au Volcan Yasur - Vanuatu (Mer du Sud)
8-23 juil. 2019: Du Krakatau à Bali - Java (Indonésie)
3-18 sept. 2019: Du Krakatau à Bali - Java (Indonésie)
12-20 oct. 2019: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
: Places libres / : Départ garanti / : Quelques places disponibles / : Groupe fermé

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Diaporama

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - New Britain Region, P.N.G. on Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - New Britain Region, P.N.G. on Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake  - New Britain Region, P.N.G. on Wednesday, 16 September 2015
Sep 16 14:13: Magnitude recalculated from 5.9 to 6.0.
Date & time: Wed, 16 Sep 14:03:23 UTC
Magnitude: 6.0
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 6.09°S / 151.45°E (Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée)
Nearest volcano: Karai (Sulu Range) (87 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- Merci!.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
HeureMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 16 Sep 2015
Wed, 16 Sep 14:03 UTCM 6.3 / 46 kmNew Britain Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
HeureMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 27 Dec 2015
Sun, 27 Dec 17:31 UTCM 4.6 / 40 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 28 Dec 2015
Mon, 28 Dec 14:39 UTCM 4.8 / 40 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Jan 2016
Sun, 10 Jan 13:58 UTCM 4.6 / 60 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 13 Jan 2016
Wed, 13 Jan 23:53 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- New Britain region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 26 Jan 2016 (7 earthquakes)
Tue, 26 Jan 03:10 UTCM 6.1 / 24 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 10:49 UTCM 4.7 / 29 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 15:47 UTCM 5.2 / 25 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 19:22 UTCM 4.6 / 39.8 km - [info]- 100km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 26 Jan 20:03 UTCM 5.4 / 24 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 21:34 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 22:06 UTCM 5.0 / 35 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Feb 2016
Tue, 2 Feb 05:38 UTCM 4.8 / 61 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Feb 2016
Fri, 5 Feb 04:12 UTCM 4.6 / 64 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Feb 2016
Sun, 14 Feb 14:36 UTCM 4.8 / 203 km - [info]New Britain Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 18 Feb 2016
Thu, 18 Feb 17:36 UTCM 4.8 / 42.2 km - [info]- 110km SSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 18 Feb 20:47 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 20 Feb 2016
Sat, 20 Feb 18:34 UTCM 4.3 / 58 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Feb 2016
Mon, 29 Feb 17:43 UTCM 4.4 / 88 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 3 Mar 2016
Thu, 3 Mar 04:14 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 9 Mar 2016
Wed, 9 Mar 16:06 UTCM 4.8 / 60 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Mar 2016
Wed, 16 Mar 16:04 UTCM 4.8 / 69 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Mar 2016
Tue, 22 Mar 07:24 UTCM 4.5 / 51 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Mar 2016
Wed, 23 Mar 12:20 UTCM 4.6 / 189 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Mar 18:33 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 11 Apr 2016
Mon, 11 Apr 00:50 UTCM 4.8 / 51 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 14 Apr 2016
Thu, 14 Apr 14:48 UTCM 4.7 / 154.2 km - [info]- New Britain region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 16 Apr 2016
Sat, 16 Apr 04:14 UTCM 4.6 / 100.3 km - [info]- 32km N of Kandrian, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 20 Apr 2016
Wed, 20 Apr 10:41 UTCM 5.0 / 47 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 23 Apr 2016
Sat, 23 Apr 11:19 UTCM 4.7 / 65 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Apr 2016
Mon, 25 Apr 10:01 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 17 May 2016
Tue, 17 May 04:55 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 1 Jun 2016
Wed, 1 Jun 15:24 UTCM 4.8 / 52 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 7 Jun 2016
Tue, 7 Jun 14:29 UTCM 4.7 / 89 km - [info]- 29km SW of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 21 Jun 2016
Tue, 21 Jun 08:38 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 17 Jul 2016
Sun, 17 Jul 10:44 UTCM 4.6 / 62 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 30 Jul 2016
Sat, 30 Jul 16:14 UTCM 4.7 / 48 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Aug 2016
Thu, 11 Aug 11:20 UTCM 4.7 / 111 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 18 Aug 2016
Thu, 18 Aug 07:54 UTCM 5.3 / 58 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 30 Aug 2016
Tue, 30 Aug 19:05 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Aug 21:12 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Sep 2016
Fri, 2 Sep 03:28 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 10 Sep 2016
Sat, 10 Sep 15:06 UTCM 4.8 / 182 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 10 Sep 16:08 UTCM 4.8 / 154 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ

 

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.