Isla Zacate volcan

Mise à jour: 14 août. 2022 09:02 GMT - Refresh
stratovolcan 640+ m / 2,100 ft
Honduras, 13.33°N / -87.63°W
Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5)

Isla Zacate volcano (or Isla Zacate Grande) is a stratovolcano that forms a low 7 x 10 km wide island in southern Honduras separated by a narrow strait from and surrounded by the Gulf of Fonseca and Chismuyo Bay.
The mainly basaltic volcano is strongly eroded with deep erosion valleys on the summit cone, suggesting it has not erupted for a long time.

Montrer carte interactive
Style éruptif tipique: effusif
Eruptions du volcan Isla Zacate: unknown, less than 10,000 years ago
Derniers séismes proches:
HeureMag. / ProfondeurDistance/Lieu
mercredi, 10 août 2022 GMT (3 séismes)
10 août 2022 05:11 (GMT -6) (10 août. 2022 11:11 GMT)
3.4

2 km
312 km (194 mi)
26 km au sud de Siuna, Atlantico Norte, Nicaragua
10 août 2022 04:55 (GMT -6) (10 août. 2022 10:55 GMT)
4.3

5 km
415 km (258 mi)
42 km à l'est de La Cruz de Rio Grande, Atlantico Sur, Nicaragua
10 août 2022 04:54 (GMT -6) (10 août. 2022 10:54 GMT)
4.0

4 km
308 km (191 mi)
29 km au sud de Siuna, Atlantico Norte, Nicaragua
mardi, 2 août 2022 GMT (2 séismes)
2 août 2022 00:32 (GMT -5) (2 août. 2022 05:32 GMT)
4.2

5 km
774 km (481 mi)
Caribbean Sea, 145 km au nord-est de San Andres, Colombie
1 août 2022 20:56 (GMT -6) (2 août. 2022 02:56 GMT)
3.3

180 km
33 km (21 mi)
Océan Pacifique Nord, Honduras, 73 km au nord-ouest de Chinandega, Nicaragua

Introduction

Zacate Grande volcano contains at least 7 flank cones, some of which form small islands offshore. Some of these, including the symmetrical cone of Isla Gueguensi in the tidal flats about 3 km east of the base of Zacate Grande, have probably been active during the past 10,000 years.


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Découvrez notre app gratuite !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | Version iOS

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Mentions légales | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy