Miravalles volcan

Stratovolcano 2028 m / 6,653 ft

Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5)

Montrer carte interactive
Style éruptif tipique: unspecified
Eruptions du volcan Miravalles: 1946 

HeureMag. / ProfondeurDistance/Lieu
mercredi, 13. octobre 2021 12:01 GMT (1 séisme)
13 oct. 2021 06:01 (GMT -6) (13. oct. 2021 12:01 GMT)
3.6

161 km
43 km (27 mi)
Costa Rica: 7 Km Al Noroeste De Venado, San Carlos.
lundi, 11. octobre 2021 09:12 GMT (1 séisme)
11 oct. 2021 03:12 (GMT -6) (11. oct. 2021 09:12 GMT)
3.4

11 km
23 km (14 mi)
Costa Rica: 15 Km Al Este De Canas Dulces, Liberia.
samedi, 9. octobre 2021 14:41 GMT (1 séisme)
9 oct. 2021 08:41 (GMT -6) (9. oct. 2021 14:41 GMT)
2.5

10 km
39 km (24 mi)
31 km au nord de Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
vendredi, 8. octobre 2021 09:38 GMT (1 séisme)
8 oct. 2021 03:38 (GMT -6) (8. oct. 2021 09:38 GMT)
2.6

3 km
10.1 km (6.3 mi)
Bagaces, 38 km à l'est de Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Introduction

Miravalles is a 2028-m-high andesitic stratovolcano that is one of five post-caldera cones along a NE-trending line within the broad 15 x 20 km Guayabo (Miravalles) caldera. The caldera was formed during several major explosive eruptions that produced voluminous dacitic-rhyolitic pyroclastic flows between about 1.5 and 0.6 million years ago. Growth of post-caldera volcanoes in the eastern part of the caldera that overtopped much of the eastern and southern caldera rims was interrupted by edifice collapse that produced a major debris avalanche to the SW. Morphologically youthful lava flows cover the western and SW flanks of the post-caldera Miravalles complex, which rises above the town of Guayabo on the flat western caldera floor. The only reported historical eruptive activity was a small steam explosion on the SW flank in 1946. High heat flow remains, and Miravalles is the site of the largest developed geothermal field in Costa Rica.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Montrer plus
Découvrez notre app gratuite !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | Version iOS

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.