Rincón de la Vieja volcan

Complex volcano 1916 m (6,286 ft)

Condition actuelle: en vigilance - niveau agité (2 sur 5)
Last update: 29 sept. 2021 (Volcanic Alert Level lowered to Yellow)

Rincón de la Vieja is the largest volcano in NW Costa Rica and one of its most active ones.

Montrer carte interactive
Style éruptif tipique:

Explosive.


Eruptions du volcan Rincón de la Vieja: 1529(?), 1765, 1844, 1849, 1851(?), 1853-54, 1860, 1861-63, 1902(?), 1912, 1917(?), 1922, 1966-67, 1969, 1969, 1970, 1983, 1984, 1985-86, 1987, 1991-92, 1995, 1998 (Feb.-Sep.)

HeureMag. / ProfondeurDistance/Lieu
mardi, 26. octobre 2021 09:40 GMT (1 séisme)
26 oct. 2021 03:40 (GMT -6) (26. oct. 2021 09:40 GMT)
2.8

3 km
3.7 km (2.3 mi)
21 km au nord-est de Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lundi, 25. octobre 2021 07:47 GMT (1 séisme)
25 oct. 2021 01:47 (GMT -6) (25. oct. 2021 07:47 GMT)
2.8

85 km
34 km (21 mi)
39 km au nord-ouest de Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
samedi, 23. octobre 2021 16:15 GMT (2 séismes)
23 oct. 2021 10:15 (GMT -6) (23. oct. 2021 16:15 GMT)
3.0

4 km
38 km (24 mi)
Cañas, Provincia de Guanacaste, 34 km au sud-est de San Jose, Costa Rica
23 oct. 2021 10:00 (GMT -6) (23. oct. 2021 16:00 GMT)
2.9

3 km
43 km (27 mi)
Cañas, Provincia de Guanacaste, 36 km au sud-est de San Jose, Costa Rica
jeudi, 21. octobre 2021 12:05 GMT (1 séisme)
21 oct. 2021 06:05 (GMT -6) (21. oct. 2021 12:05 GMT)
2.4

5 km
47 km (29 mi)
Guatuso, Provincia de Alajuela, 26 km au nord-est de Canas, Costa Rica

Introduction

It is a remote volcanic complex in the Guanacaste Range, consisting of an elongated, arcuate NW-SE-trending ridge that was constructed within the 15-km-wide, about 9,000 years-old Guachipelín caldera, whose rim is exposed on the south side.
Rincón de la Vieja, sometimes known as the "Colossus of Guanacaste," has an estimated volume of 130 cu km and contains at least 9 major eruptive centers.
Activity has migrated to the SE, where the youngest-looking craters are located. The twin cone of 1916-m-high Santa María volcano, the highest peak of the Rincón complex, is located at the eastern end of a smaller, 5-km-wide caldera and has a 500-m-wide crater.
A plinian eruption producing the 0.25 cu km Río Blanca tephra about 3500 years ago was the last major magmatic eruption from the volcano. All subsequent eruptions, including numerous historical eruptions possibly dating back to the 16th century, have been from the prominent crater containing a 500-m-wide acid lake (known as the Active Crater) located ENE of Von Seebach crater.
Source: GVP, Smithsonian Institution


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Montrer plus

Découvrez notre app gratuite !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | Version iOS

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.