Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Départs garantis:
8-16 mai 2021: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
: Places libres / : Départ garanti / : Quelques places disponibles / : Groupe fermé

Actualitées:

jeu., 22 oct. 2020, 07:54
GeoNet observatory reported that the activity at Crater Lake (Te Wai ā-moe) is often dominated by a heating-cooling cycle. In the most recent cycle, the lake temperature reached a high of 41°C in April and then cooled steadily to 12 °C by late September. Over the last two weeks, the lake has warmed slightly to 15 °C, which is a normal observation. ... lire toutes
mar., 11 août 2020, 08:58
Ruapehu volcano today (image: GeoNet)
GeoNet observatory reported that since April 2020, lake temperature has decreased from a high of 42°C to around 22-23 °C. This lower lake temperature is normal for Crater Lake. To keep the lake at this temperature, low-level heat must continue to flow into the lake. This indicates that the underlying vent area is open to volcanic gases and hydrothermal fluids. Other signs that point to this open vent are visible upwellings and sulphur slicks on the lake surface. ... lire toutes
 

Ruapehu volcan

Stratovolcano 2797 m / 9,176 ft
North Island, New Zealand, -39.28°S / 175.57°E
Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5)
Ruapehu webcams / données en temps réel | Reports
Ruapehu livres | Tours
Last update: 22 Oct 2020 (gas flight observations; lake temperature is low)
Style éruptif tipique: Mildly explosive, formation of lahars
Eruptions du volcan Ruapehu: Ruhapehu volcano
HeureMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Mon, 26 Oct 2020 (UTC)
27 Oct 2:00 am (GMT +13) (26 Oct 13:00:48 UTC)M 0.3 / 19.3 km25 km45 Km S of Turangi, New Zealand
Sun, 25 Oct 2020 (UTC)
26 Oct 9:03 am (GMT +13) (25 Oct 20:03:32 UTC)M 1.4 / 12.6 km27 km4 Km S of Waiouru, New Zealand
26 Oct 7:46 am (GMT +13) (25 Oct 18:46:14 UTC)M 1.7 / 10.8 km22 km44 Km NW of Waiouru, New Zealand
25 Oct 10:30 pm (GMT +13) (25 Oct 09:30:34 UTC)M 1.0 / 13 km26 km3 Km SE of Waiouru, New Zealand
25 Oct 5:12 pm (GMT +13) (25 Oct 04:12:25 UTC)M 0.2 / 7.8 km8 km34 Km SW of Turangi, New Zealand
Voir tous
Ruapehu is one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes and forms the highest peak of the North Island. The andesitic stratovolcano has an age of around 200,000 years and contains a large summit crater containing a lake. Eruptions from the vent inside the lake often cause the lake to drain and form dangerous lahars.

Introduction:

Ruapehu is a complex volcanic edifice constructed over several cycles and has a NNE-SSW elongated shape. The cone is surrounded by a large plain formed by debris from flank collapse and lahar deposits.
A series of very explosive (Plinian) eruptions occurred at Ruapehu between about 22,600 and 10,000 years ago. Since then, only one vent has probably been active, Crater Lake in the summit region. Activity in historic time consisted of mild explosive phreatic and phreatomagmatic eruptions often accompanied by lahars threatening the popular ski area on the volcano as well as structures in the surrounding valleys.
An eruption on 24th December 1953 caused a catastrophic lahar that destroyed a rail bridge 42 km from the volcano, just as the Wellington-Auckland passenger train was crossing and fell into the valley, causing 151 fatalities.

Derniers images satellite


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.