Ubehebe Craters volcan

explosion craters (maars) 752 m / 2,467 ft

Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5)

Cratères Ubehebe sont un groupe de maars (cratères d'explosion) formé à la marge occidentale de la montagne de Tin, en Californie.

Montrer carte interactive
Style éruptif tipique: Explosive
Eruptions du volcan Ubehebe Craters: 4050 BC (?)

Latest nearby earthquakes

HeureMag. / ProfondeurDistance/Lieu
mercredi, 15. septembre 2021 12:30 GMT (1 séisme)
15 sept. 2021 05:30 (GMT -7) (15. sept. 2021 12:30 GMT)
1.9
27 km (17 mi)
51 Km SSW of Goldfield, Nevada
dimanche, 12. septembre 2021 12:46 GMT (1 séisme)
12 sept. 2021 05:46 (GMT -7) (12. sept. 2021 12:46 GMT)
2.3

8.7 km
33 km (21 mi)
51 Km S of Silver Peak, Nevada
samedi, 11. septembre 2021 22:30 GMT (3 séismes)
11 sept. 2021 15:30 (GMT -7) (11. sept. 2021 22:30 GMT)
2.0

3.1 km
20 km (12 mi)
58 Km SSW of Goldfield, Nevada
11 sept. 2021 15:24 (GMT -7) (11. sept. 2021 22:24 GMT)
2.2

9.9 km
19 km (12 mi)
59 Km SSW of Goldfield, Nevada
11 sept. 2021 02:47 (GMT -7) (11. sept. 2021 09:47 GMT)
1.7

3 km
45 km (28 mi)
37 Km ENE of Big Pine, California

Introduction

The Ubehebe Craters consist of an isolated group of overlapping maars formed during eruptions of alkali basalt along a fault cutting fanglomerate deposits on the flanks of Tin Mountain in Death Valley National Park. Ubehebe Crater is a 0.8-km-wide, 235-m-deep maar surrounded by a tuff ring. Little Hebe Crater, the second youngest vent, is located immediately south of Ubehebe Crater and is a small tuff cone with a 100-m-wide crater overlain by pyroclastic-surge deposits. At least a dozen craters are located within an area of 3 sq km, and bedded pyroclastic-surge deposits cover an area of 15 sq km. Early scoria cone formation was followed by hydrovolcanic explosions that formed two clusters of explosion craters and tuff rings. The age of volcanism at Ubehebe is not dated precisely, but the lack of erosional modification of pyroclastic-surge deposits suggests that the youngest activity, from the largest crater, Ubehebe Crater, is Holocene in age. Relationships between Ubehebe tephra and approximately dated archeological artifacts suggests an age of about 6000 years.
---
from: GVP Ubehebe Craters information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Montrer plus
Découvrez notre app gratuite !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | Version iOS

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.