Hecar volcano

Stratovolcano 5029 m / 16499 ft
Northern Chile, -23.23°S / -67.75°W
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Hecar volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 08:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 1, 2021 5:46 am (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2021 08:46 GMT)
4.4

225 km
83 km (52 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 189 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
Monday, November 29, 2021 14:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 29, 2021 11:09 am (GMT -3) (Nov 29, 2021 14:09 GMT)
3.1

243 km
51 km (32 mi)
98 km east of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Friday, November 26, 2021 14:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 26, 2021 11:31 am (GMT -3) (Nov 26, 2021 14:31 GMT)
3.9

239 km
55 km (34 mi)
190 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Thursday, November 25, 2021 19:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 25, 2021 4:34 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 25, 2021 19:34 GMT)
2.6

234 km
72 km (45 mi)
Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, 114 km northwest of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 17:25 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 24, 2021 2:25 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 24, 2021 17:25 GMT)
2.7

170 km
25 km (16 mi)
59 km southeast of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile

Background

stratovolcano north of Lascar volcano; no evidence for Holocene activity (de Silva and Francis 1991).
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel