Past earthquakes near Hohi volcano: 2020

Updated Oct 25, 2021 16:06 GMT -
There were 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0+ near Hohi volcano during 2020, the largest largest being a 2.8 event.
Biggest quake: 2.8 quake 3.5 km west of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan, Dec 31, 2020 4:12 am (GMT +9)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (4 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 19:12 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 31, 2020 4:12 am (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2020 19:12 GMT)
2.8

8.3 km
46 km (29 mi)3.5 km west of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2020 10:25 am (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2020 01:25 GMT)
2.6

8 km
21 km (13 mi)Aso-gun, Kumamoto, 18 km south of Tsukawaki, Kusu-gun, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Friday, December 18, 2020 20:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 19, 2020 5:40 am (GMT +9) (Dec 18, 2020 20:40 GMT)
2.6

115 km
28 km (17 mi)4.8 km west of Kitsuki, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Thursday, December 17, 2020 00:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 17, 2020 9:16 am (GMT +9) (Dec 17, 2020 00:16 GMT)
2.6

106 km
23 km (14 mi)3.5 km southeast of Hiji, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 109 joules (695 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.598 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.