Past earthquakes near Ilopango volcano: June 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 8, 2022 16:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes during June 2022:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 25 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During June 2022, Ilopango volcano had 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 25 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.4 | 17 km W of San Miguel, El Salvador -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (32 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jun 29, 2022 8:17 am (GMT -6) (Jun 29, 2022 14:17 GMT)
2.3

6 km
36 km (22 mi)13 km northwest of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
Friday, June 24, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 24, 2022 8:17 am (GMT -6) (Jun 24, 2022 14:17 GMT)
2.1

7 km
82 km (51 mi)14 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 24, 2022 3:01 am (GMT -6) (Jun 24, 2022 09:01 GMT)
2.2

8 km
81 km (50 mi)16 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Thursday, June 23, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Jun 23, 2022 4:47 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 22:47 GMT)
2.3

6 km
78 km (48 mi)19 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 4:40 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 22:40 GMT)
2.2

4 km
83 km (52 mi)14 km northwest of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 21:02 GMT)
3.1

3 km
80 km (50 mi)17 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador 1 reportMoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 2:55 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 20:55 GMT)
2.6

7 km
82 km (51 mi)14 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 20:52 GMT)
2.7

6 km
80 km (50 mi)16 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 2:27 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 20:27 GMT)
3.4

5 km
80 km (50 mi)17 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 1:45 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 19:45 GMT)
2.2

10 km
82 km (51 mi)14 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 19:05 GMT)
2.4

8 km
81 km (50 mi)15 km west of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 23, 2022 2:34 am (GMT -6) (Jun 23, 2022 08:34 GMT)
2.2

5 km
239 km (149 mi)Departamento de Choluteca, 61 km southeast of Tegucigalpa, Honduras MoreMap
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jun 20, 2022 7:39 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 21, 2022 01:39 GMT)
2.6

4 km
314 km (195 mi)36 km east of Ocotal, Departamento de Nueva Segovia, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, June 20, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 19, 2022 8:02 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 20, 2022 02:02 GMT)
2.7

5 km
199 km (124 mi)27 km north of Choluteca, Honduras MoreMap
Jun 19, 2022 7:27 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 20, 2022 01:27 GMT)
2.3

11 km
138 km (86 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 5.5 km northeast of La Union, El Salvador MoreMap
Saturday, June 18, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 18, 2022 3:09 am (GMT -6) (Jun 18, 2022 09:09 GMT)
2.9

5 km
276 km (171 mi)13 km north of Ocotal, Departamento de Nueva Segovia, Nicaragua MoreMap
Jun 17, 2022 8:24 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 18, 2022 02:24 GMT)
2.9

68 km
252 km (157 mi)Honduras, 21 km northwest of Somoto, Madriz, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, June 17, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 17, 2022 1:29 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 17, 2022 19:29 GMT)
2.2

4 km
39 km (24 mi)11 km southeast of San Vicente, El Salvador MoreMap
Jun 17, 2022 3:47 am (GMT -6) (Jun 17, 2022 09:47 GMT)
2.7

5 km
269 km (167 mi)2.8 km southwest of El Paraiso, Honduras MoreMap
Thursday, June 16, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jun 16, 2022 9:20 am (GMT -6) (Jun 16, 2022 15:20 GMT)
2.8

13 km
35 km (22 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jun 15, 2022 9:32 am (GMT -6) (Jun 15, 2022 15:32 GMT)
3.1

21 km
51 km (32 mi)Departamento de Cabañas, 1.9 km north of Sensuntepeque, Cabañas, El Salvador MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1010 joules (8.97 megawatt hours, equivalent to 7.72 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings