Imbing volcano

Stratovolcano(es) 700 m / 2297 ft
Philippines, 7.68°N / 123.23°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Imbing volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
Sep 16, 2021 11:31 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 16, 2021 15:31:00 GMT)
3.6

13 km
38 km (24 mi)
31 km northwest of Pagadian, Philippines
Sep 16, 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 16, 2021 13:20:00 GMT)
3.6

14 km
39 km (24 mi)
31 km northwest of Pagadian, Philippines
Sep 16, 2021 6:08 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 16, 2021 10:08:00 GMT)
1.8

34 km
48 km (30 mi)
Celebes Sea, 49 km south of Pagadian, Philippines
Sep 16, 2021 10:38 am (GMT +8) (Sep 16, 2021 02:38:00 GMT)
2.1

45 km
31 km (19 mi)
18 km northwest of Pagadian, Philippines
Fri, Sep 10, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 5:18 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 10, 2021 09:18:00 GMT)
2.7

23 km
32 km (20 mi)
41 km south of Pagadian, Philippines

Background

Mount Imbing is one of the highest of a group of volcanoes at the southern end of the SE-most peninsula of the Zamboanga Peninsula. A K-Ar date of 0.82 million years from a sample on the western coast of this peninsula (Sajona et al., 1994, 1997).
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Imbing Photos

Climbing Suwanose-jima volcano (Tokara Islands, Japan) (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Climbing Suwanose-jima volcano (Tokara Islands, Japan) (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
A group climbing Stromboli volcano (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
A group climbing Stromboli volcano (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Group climbing Stromboli volcano in the evening (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Group climbing Stromboli volcano in the evening (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Climbing the peak of the Polyvotis lava dome. (c)
Climbing the peak of the Polyvotis lava dome. (c)
 



See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.