Platanar vulcano

Stratovolcanoes 2267 m / 7,438 ft
Costa Rica, 10.3°N / -84.37°W
Stato attuale: normal or dormant (1 di 5)

Mostra la mappa interattiva
Stile eruttivo tipico: non specificato
Eruzioni del vulcano Platanar: unknown, no recent eruptions

Data / oraMag. / Prof.Distanza/Ubicazione
giovedì, 14 ottobre 2021 10:45 GMT (1 terremoto)
14 ott 2021 04:45 (GMT -6) (14 ott 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.8

5 km
13 km (8.1 mi)
COSTA RICA
martedì, 5 ottobre 2021 18:12 GMT (1 terremoto)
5 ott 2021 12:12 (GMT -6) (5 ott 2021 18:12 GMT)
3.3

80 km
23 km (14 mi)
Poas, Provincia de Alajuela, 28 km a nord ovest da San José, Costa Rica
lunedì, 4 ottobre 2021 06:31 GMT (1 terremoto)
4 ott 2021 00:31 (GMT -6) (4 ott 2021 06:31 GMT)
3.7

12 km
43 km (27 mi)
36 km a nord ovest da Ciudad Quesada, Costa Rica
domenica, 3 ottobre 2021 12:28 GMT (1 terremoto)
3 ott 2021 06:28 (GMT -6) (3 ott 2021 12:28 GMT)
3.5

9 km
43 km (27 mi)
36 km a nord ovest da Ciudad Quesada, Costa Rica

Sfondo

The Platanar volcanic center is the NW-most volcano in the Cordillera Central of Costa Rica. The massive complex covers about 900 sq km and is dominated by two largely Pleistocene stratovolcanoes, Platanar and Porvenir. These volcanoes were constructed within the Pleistocene Chocosuela caldera, which may have formed during a major slope failure. The 2183-m-high Cerro Platanar volcano (known locally as Volcán Congo) on the north side of the complex has prehistorical lava flows on its western flanks and is the youngest volcanic center. The highest peak of the complex is 2267-m-high Porvenir volcano, whose summit crater lies 3 km south of Platanar. A thin layer of phreatic ash suggested that an eruption from Platanar occurred within the past few thousand years (Stine and Banks, 1991). The Aguas Zarcas group of nine basaltic cinder cones, located on the north flank of the Platanar-Porvenir complex to as low as 160 m altitude, is in part Holocene in age.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostra di più
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Piu su VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery ed altre fonti come indicate.
Uso di materiale: La maggior parte dei testi e delle immagini, in particolare le foto, presenti su questo sito web sono protetti da copyright. L'ulteriore riproduzione e l'utilizzo senza autorizzazione non sono consentiti. Se non sei sicuro o hai bisogno di diritti di licenza per materiale, ad esempio foto per pubblicazioni o altro uso commerciale, contattaci.