Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 mag 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano
: spazi disponibili / : garantita / : pochi spazi a sinistra / : Prenotato fuori
News from Raoul island
mer, 26 apr 2006, 13:39
As of 13 April, seismicity at Raoul Island had returned to normal and Green Lake's water level was dropping. Raoul Island remained at Alert Level 2 (minor eruptive activity). ... leggere tutti
Thu, 13 Apr 2006, 08:44
Seismicity continued to decline at Raoul Island through 7 April. In addition, Green Lake's water level began to recede, ending the water-level increase that had occurred in response to the 17 March eruption. ... leggere tutti

Raoul Island vulcano

stratovulcano 516 m / 1,693 ft
Kermandec Islands, New Zealand, -29.27°S / -177.92°W
Stato attuale: normal or dormant (1 di 5)

Raoul Island volcano is the northernmost, largest and best known of the Kermandec islands NE of New Zealand.
The anvil shaped 10 x 6 km wide island is the top of a large stratovolcano breaching the sea surface. At its submarine base, the volcano measures 35 x 20 km. The volcano has 2 overlapping caldera containing 3 lakes (Blue, Green, and Tui). Historical eruptions have been observed since the 19th century.

Show interactive Map
Stile eruttivo tipico: explosive
Eruzioni del vulcano Raoul Island: 2006, 1987 (?), 1964-65, 1886, 1870, 1814 (first historically observed eruption)
Radiocarbon-dated eruptions: 1720±50, 1630±50, 1450(?), 850 AD(?), 700 AD(?), 550 AD(?), 400 AD(?), 100 AD(?), 50 BC (?), 250 BC ± 75, 1200 BC ± 150, 2000 BC ± 100 years

Latest nearby earthquakes

Data / oraMag. / ProfonditàDistanzaUbicazione
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (5 Terremoti)
5 mar 2021 11:05 (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 22:05:55 GMT)
5.7

10 km - Più
152 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, Nuova Zelanda
5 mar 2021 11:00 (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 22:00:05 GMT)
5.3

10 km - Più
88 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, Nuova Zelanda
5 mar 2021 10:04 (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 21:04:08 GMT)
5.6

45 km - Più
93 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, Nuova Zelanda
4 mar 2021 08:25 (GMT -12) (4 Mar 2021 20:25:26 GMT)
5.5

72 km - Più
28 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, Nuova Zelanda
4 mar 2021 08:20 (GMT -12) (4 Mar 2021 20:20:50 GMT)
5.5

40 km - Più
96 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, Nuova Zelanda

Sfondo

During the past several thousand years volcanism has been dominated by dacitic explosive eruptions. 2 Holocene calderas are found at Raoul. The older caldera cuts the center of Raoul Island and is about 2.5 x 3.5 km wide.
Denham caldera, formed during a major dacitic explosive eruption about 2200 years ago, truncated the western side of the island and is 6.5 x 4 km wide. Its long axis is parallel to the tectonic fabric of the Havre Trough that lies west of the volcanic arc.
Historical eruptions at Raoul during the 19th and 20th centuries have sometimes occurred simultaneously from both calderas, and have consisted of small-to-moderate phreatic eruptions, some of which formed ephemeral islands in Denham caldera.
A 240-m-high unnamed submarine cone, one of several located along a fissure on the lower NNE flank of Raoul volcano, has also erupted during historical time, and satellitic vents at Raoul are concentrated along two parallel NNE-trending lineaments.
(Smithsonian / GVP volcano information)


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Piu su VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery e da altre fonti come indicato.
Uso di materiale: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.