Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 mag 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano
24 giu - 8 lug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 lug - 13 ago 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spazi disponibili / : garantita / : pochi spazi a sinistra / : Prenotato fuori
Latest news
gio, 21 feb 2013, 17:58
Map of recent quakes near the Salton Sea
A small swarm of earthquakes has been occurring under the SE shore area of the Salton Sea during the past few days, but the recorded quakes are very small and should not be reason to worry. ... leggere tutti
Tue, 30 Oct 2012, 10:06
Uno studio recente indica che le cupole di lava di riolite nell'area del mare di Salton sono meno di 3.000 anni, che conferma che il sistema vulcanico è da considerarsi potenzialmente attivo. ... leggere tutti

Salton Buttes vulcano

Duomi lavici -40 m / -131 feet
California, Canada and USA (mainland), 33.2°N / -115.62°W
Stato attuale: normal or dormant (1 di 5)
Last update: 26 Jun 2013

The Salton Buttes volcanic field consist of 5 small rhyolitic lava domes built above sediments of the Colorado River delta within the Salton Sea geothermal field, located at the SE margin of the Salton Sea, California.

Show interactive Map
Stile eruttivo tipico: Esplosivo
Eruzioni del vulcano Salton Buttes: about 3000 years ago

Latest nearby earthquakes

Data / oraMag. / ProfonditàDistanzaUbicazione
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT)
26 gen 2021 12:04 (GMT -8) (26 Jan 2021 20:04:16 GMT)
1.3

3.3 km - Più
37 km5km WSW of Salton City, CA, USA
Mon, 25 Jan 2021 (GMT)
25 gen 2021 00:18 (GMT -8) (25 Jan 2021 08:18:28 GMT)
1.8

1.7 km - Più
1.5 km9km SW of Niland, CA, USA
25 gen 2021 00:16 (GMT -8) (25 Jan 2021 08:16:18 GMT)
2.5

2.3 km - Più
1.7 km9km SW of Niland, CA, USA
24 gen 2021 19:38 (GMT -8) (25 Jan 2021 03:38:09 GMT)
1.3

3.7 km - Più
38 km9km SW of Salton City, CA, USA
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT)
24 gen 2021 12:34 (GMT -8) (24 Jan 2021 20:34:37 GMT)
1.7

7.5 km - Più
38 km24km NE of Ocotillo, CA, USA

Sfondo

Recent dating of young zircons (which typically crystallize prior to eruption) place the date of the lava domes at 10,300 +/- 1000 years ago, consistent with early Holocene hydration rind dates from Obsidian Butte. Wave-cut benches originating from Lake Cahuilla, which existed from about 20,500 to 3000 years ago, prior to the 20th century formation of the Salton Sea due to an accidental spill-over of the Colorado River, are found on all of the domes. Older, sediment-buried Pleistocene rhyolitic lava domes have been found in geothermal drill holes. The Salton Sea geothermal field produces saline geothermal brines.
---
Source: GVP Salton Buttes information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Piu su VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery e da altre fonti come indicato.
Uso di materiale: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.