Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Kaitake volcano

Updated: Mar 4, 2024 11:26 GMT -
Stratovolcano 684 m / 2244 ft
New Zealand, -39.17°S / 173.97°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Kaitake volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than 2.58 million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Mar 2, 12:58 am (Auckland)
Mar 1, 11:58 GMT
2.0

5 km
19 km (12 mi) to the N 15 km northwest of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand Info
Tuesday, February 20, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 21, 11:19 am (Auckland)
Feb 20, 22:19 GMT
2.6

5 km
15 km (9.2 mi) to the W 26 km west of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand Info

Background

Kaitake, an eroded, heavily vegetated Pleistocene volcano, is the NW-most stratovolcano of the Taranaki volcanic region.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
News

No news in this list.