Past earthquakes near Malpaisillo volcano: August 2021

Updated Oct 24, 2021 01:07 GMT -
During Aug 2021, Malpaisillo volcano was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 15 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.3 quake 32 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua, Aug 10, 2021 6:15 am (GMT -6)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 02:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 30, 2021 8:46 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 31, 2021 02:46 GMT)
2.9

3 km
47 km (29 mi)24 km north of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Saturday, August 28, 2021 20:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 28, 2021 2:59 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 28, 2021 20:59 GMT)
3.1

1 km
42 km (26 mi)Departamento de Leon, 29 km southwest of Esteli, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 28, 2021 5:20 am (GMT -6) (Aug 28, 2021 11:20 GMT)
1.5

15 km
21 km (13 mi)39 km northeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, August 27, 2021 05:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 26, 2021 11:03 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 27, 2021 05:03 GMT)
3.1

5 km
46 km (29 mi)Departamento de Leon, 31 km west of Managua, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, August 26, 2021 10:19 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Aug 26, 2021 4:19 am (GMT -6) (Aug 26, 2021 10:19 GMT)
2.1

5 km
35 km (22 mi)10.5 km north of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 26, 2021 4:19 am (GMT -6) (Aug 26, 2021 10:19 GMT)
1.9

10 km
46 km (29 mi)17 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 25, 2021 10:25 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 26, 2021 04:25 GMT)
2.7

10 km
18 km (11 mi)44 km northeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 25, 2021 8:59 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 26, 2021 02:59 GMT)
2.6

5 km
33 km (21 mi)Departamento de Chinandega, 48 km southwest of Esteli, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 09:30 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 25, 2021 3:30 am (GMT -6) (Aug 25, 2021 09:30 GMT)
1.4

9 km
48 km (30 mi)4 Km Al Noroeste De Volcán San Cristóbal, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 25, 2021 2:54 am (GMT -6) (Aug 25, 2021 08:54 GMT)
1.9

6 km
48 km (30 mi)17 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sunday, August 22, 2021 08:39 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 22, 2021 2:39 am (GMT -6) (Aug 22, 2021 08:39 GMT)
2.3

155 km
47 km (29 mi)24 km west of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 22, 2021 12:03 am (GMT -6) (Aug 22, 2021 06:03 GMT)
2.1

7 km
46 km (29 mi)Departamento de Leon, 28 km southwest of Esteli, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 21, 2021 10:53 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 22, 2021 04:53 GMT)
1.7

10 km
27 km (17 mi)Departamento de Managua, 12 km northeast of Nagarote, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, August 20, 2021 15:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 20, 2021 9:55 am (GMT -6) (Aug 20, 2021 15:55 GMT)
3.1

5 km
41 km (25 mi)22 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 20:36 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Aug 16, 2021 2:36 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 20:36 GMT)
2.7

142 km
48 km (30 mi)Departamento de Leon, 48 km west of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 10:13 am (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 16:13 GMT)
2.7

53 km
32 km (20 mi)2.7 km north of Nagarote, Departamento de Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 12:03 am (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 06:03 GMT)
1.3

102 km
16 km (9.9 mi)4 Km Al Suroeste De Volcán El Hoyo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 12:03 am (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 06:03 GMT)
2.5

171 km
45 km (28 mi)13 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 15, 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 02:14 GMT)
1.5

8 km
30 km (19 mi)Departamento de Leon, 20 km northeast of Chichigalpa, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 15, 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 02:14 GMT)
1.1

8 km
28 km (17 mi)8 Km Al Norte De Volcán Telica, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 15, 2021 8:12 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 02:12 GMT)
2.1

6 km
30 km (19 mi)25 km north of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 21:52 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 10, 2021 3:52 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2021 21:52 GMT)
2.8

10 km
44 km (27 mi)22 km northwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 10, 2021 6:15 am (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2021 12:15 GMT)
3.3

29 km
29 km (18 mi)32 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 10, 2021 2:03 am (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2021 08:03 GMT)
3.0

5 km
38 km (24 mi)24 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, August 9, 2021 23:24 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Aug 9, 2021 5:24 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 23:24 GMT)
1.9

13 km
35 km (22 mi)18 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 9, 2021 3:08 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 21:08 GMT)
2.8

40 km
33 km (21 mi)Departamento de Matagalpa, 49 km south of Esteli, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 8, 2021 10:50 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 04:50 GMT)
1.6

7 km
42 km (26 mi)19 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 8, 2021 10:45 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 04:45 GMT)
2.3

7 km
40 km (25 mi)20 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 8, 2021 10:44 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 04:44 GMT)
2.2

6 km
41 km (25 mi)19 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, August 6, 2021 06:27 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 6, 2021 12:27 am (GMT -6) (Aug 6, 2021 06:27 GMT)
1.5

5 km
42 km (26 mi)19 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Aug 5, 2021 9:45 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 6, 2021 03:45 GMT)
1.5

9 km
28 km (17 mi)Departamento de Managua, 14 km northeast of Nagarote, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 12:02 GMT (2 earthquakes)
2021-08-03 06:02:47 (Aug 3, 2021 12:02 GMT)
1.6

5 km
33 km (21 mi)43 km north of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
2021-08-02 22:00:22 (Aug 3, 2021 04:00 GMT)
2.1

9 km
49 km (30 mi)30 km north of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1010 joules (6.54 megawatt hours, equivalent to 5.63 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.