Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Mangakino volcano: past 14 days

Updated Oct 26, 2021 18:37 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Mangakino volcano was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 32 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 26 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand, Oct 15, 2021 8:29 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.7 quake North Island, 37 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, Oct 26, 2021 10:31 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.3 quake North Island, Waikato, 35 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Oct 27, 2021 12:41 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (61 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 11:41 GMT (11 earthquakes)
Oct 27, 2021 12:41 am (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 11:41 GMT)
2.3

122 km
16 km (9.9 mi)North Island, Waikato, 35 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 11:04 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 10:04 GMT)
2.0

173 km
22 km (14 mi)North Island, 64 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 10:51 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 09:51 GMT)
1.2

73 km
44 km (27 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 10:38 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 09:38 GMT)
2.0

145 km
27 km (17 mi)North Island, Waikato, 24 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 10:31 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 09:31 GMT)
2.7

119 km
46 km (29 mi)North Island, 37 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 10:17 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 09:17 GMT)
2.0

160 km
14 km (8.7 mi)North Island, 72 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 5:46 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 04:46 GMT)
1.7

4.3 km
35 km (22 mi)North Island, 21 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 5:08 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 04:08 GMT)
1.6

4.5 km
36 km (22 mi)North Island, 21 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 03:55 GMT)
1.6

5 km
36 km (22 mi)North Island, Bay of Plenty, 21 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 4:47 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 03:47 GMT)
2.5

3.1 km
35 km (22 mi)North Island, 22 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 4:28 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 26, 2021 03:28 GMT)
1.9

5.9 km
37 km (23 mi)North Island, Bay of Plenty, 21 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, October 25, 2021 10:03 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 25, 2021 11:03 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 25, 2021 10:03 GMT)
1.4

139 km
19 km (12 mi)North Island, 30 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 8:51 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 25, 2021 07:51 GMT)
1.6

32 km
45 km (28 mi)North Island, 18 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 24, 2021 14:56 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Oct 25, 2021 3:56 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:56 GMT)
1.6

4 km
29 km (18 mi)North Island, Waikato, 39 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 3:49 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:49 GMT)
1.3

5 km
29 km (18 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 3:47 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:47 GMT)
2.3

5 km
30 km (19 mi)North Island, 27 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 3:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:46 GMT)
1.8

2.6 km
29 km (18 mi)North Island, 27 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 3:37 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:37 GMT)
1.7

2.2 km
29 km (18 mi)North Island, 26 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 3:35 am (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 14:35 GMT)
1.8

5 km
28 km (17 mi)North Island, 28 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 9:48 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 08:48 GMT)
1.7

113 km
42 km (26 mi)North Island, 28 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 9:09 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 08:09 GMT)
1.5

145 km
28 km (17 mi)North Island, 23 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 7:20 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 24, 2021 06:20 GMT)
2.6

159 km
23 km (14 mi)North Island, Waikato, 28 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 23:08 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 12:08 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 23:08 GMT)
2.7

137 km
46 km (29 mi)North Island, 3.3 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 11:18 am (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 22:18 GMT)
2.0

150 km
24 km (15 mi)North Island, Waikato, 27 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 8:41 am (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 19:41 GMT)
1.7

7.2 km
24 km (15 mi)North Island, 7.6 km northeast of Tokoroa, South Waikato District, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 7:11 am (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 18:11 GMT)
2.6

147 km
23 km (14 mi)North Island, Waikato, 31 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 4:10 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 03:10 GMT)
2.2

118 km
34 km (21 mi)North Island, 19 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 14:40 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 3:40 am (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 14:40 GMT)
1.9

153 km
27 km (17 mi)North Island, Waikato, 22 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 1:40 am (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 12:40 GMT)
1.9

93 km
32 km (20 mi)North Island, 22 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 6:23 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 05:23 GMT)
3.1

236 km
46 km (29 mi)North Island, 35 km east of Cambridge, Waipa District, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 5:55 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 04:55 GMT)
2.3

161 km
34 km (21 mi)North Island, 42 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 22:20 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 22, 2021 11:20 am (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 22:20 GMT)
1.8

129 km
33 km (21 mi)North Island, 36 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 6:32 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 05:32 GMT)
2.1

153 km
22 km (14 mi)North Island, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 3:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 02:22 GMT)
2.1

4.5 km
45 km (28 mi)North Island, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 2:51 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 01:51 GMT)
1.5

156 km
15 km (9.3 mi)North Island, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 08:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 20, 2021 9:09 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 08:09 GMT)
1.5

104 km
36 km (22 mi)North Island, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 15:32 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 20, 2021 4:32 am (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 15:32 GMT)
1.9

84 km
45 km (28 mi)North Island, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 10:28 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 09:28 GMT)
2.5

178 km
8.9 km (5.5 mi)North Island, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 9:17 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 08:17 GMT)
2.0

103 km
22 km (14 mi)North Island, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 16:40 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 19, 2021 5:40 am (GMT +13) (Oct 18, 2021 16:40 GMT)
2.3

130 km
32 km (20 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 7:46 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 18, 2021 06:46 GMT)
2.3

112 km
22 km (14 mi)Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 12:27 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 1:27 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 12:27 GMT)
2.7

148 km
39 km (24 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 1:04 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 12:04 GMT)
2.2

154 km
17 km (10.6 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 15:33 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 4:33 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 15:33 GMT)
2.3

141 km
47 km (29 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 2:19 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 13:19 GMT)
1.8

115 km
47 km (29 mi)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:35 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 12:35 GMT)
2.5

143 km
26 km (16 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 09:26 GMT)
1.7

138 km
34 km (21 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 19:32 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 19:32 GMT)
2.7

168 km
13 km (8.1 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 6:56 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 17:56 GMT)
2.2

148 km
50 km (31 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 5:17 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 16:17 GMT)
1.6

133 km
27 km (17 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 08:39 GMT)
1.7

157 km
25 km (16 mi)Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 9:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 08:26 GMT)
2.0

90 km
47 km (29 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:19 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 02:19 GMT)
2.1

160 km
27 km (17 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 1:34 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 00:34 GMT)
3.1

137 km
18 km (11 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 19:29 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 8:29 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 19:29 GMT)
3.8

182 km
11 km (6.8 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:16 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 14:16 GMT)
2.4

142 km
14 km (8.7 mi)Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 8:46 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 07:46 GMT)
2.0

82 km
48 km (30 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 8:04 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 07:04 GMT)
2.1

114 km
23 km (14 mi)Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 15:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 4:59 am (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 15:59 GMT)
1.4

129 km
50 km (31 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 12:39 am (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 11:39 GMT)
2.3

4.6 km
49 km (30 mi)Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand 2 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 22:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 13, 2021 11:14 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 22:14 GMT)
2.5

245 km
40 km (25 mi)Waitomo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.6 x 1010 joules (12.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 10.9 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.