Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Merapi volcano: past 14 days

Updated Oct 28, 2021 04:43 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Merapi volcano was shaken by 11 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake Java, 5.8 km southeast of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia, Oct 24, 2021 5:57 am (GMT +7)
Biggest quake today: 2.9 quake Java, 6.5 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia, Oct 28, 2021 7:20 am (GMT +7)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 28, 2021 00:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 28, 2021 7:20 am (GMT +7) (Oct 28, 2021 00:20 GMT)
2.9

10 km
25 km (16 mi)Java, 6.5 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 09:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 27, 2021 4:19 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 27, 2021 09:19 GMT)
2.7

10 km
24 km (15 mi)Java, 11 km southwest of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Monday, October 25, 2021 14:29 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 25, 2021 9:29 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 25, 2021 14:29 GMT)
2.7

10 km
29 km (18 mi)Java, 3.1 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 25, 2021 07:43 GMT)
2.7

10 km
28 km (17 mi)Java, 4.5 km southwest of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Sunday, October 24, 2021 04:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 24, 2021 11:00 am (GMT +7) (Oct 24, 2021 04:00 GMT)
2.8

12 km
26 km (16 mi)Java, 7 km southwest of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 23:52 GMT (15 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 6:52 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 23:52 GMT)
3.4

10 km
24 km (15 mi)Java, 6.9 km west of Salatiga, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 5:57 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 22:57 GMT)
3.5

10 km
26 km (16 mi)Java, 5.8 km southeast of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 5:50 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 22:50 GMT)
3.0

10 km
31 km (19 mi)Java, 6.6 km west of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:11 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 14:11 GMT)
2.7

10 km
28 km (17 mi)Java, 4.5 km southwest of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 6:58 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 11:58 GMT)
2.9

10 km
24 km (15 mi)Java, 9.1 km west of Salatiga, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 5:15 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 10:15 GMT)
3.4

19 km
27 km (17 mi)Java, 3.8 km north of Salatiga, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 5:01 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 10:01 GMT)
2.8

10 km
38 km (24 mi)Java, 6.9 km south of Ungaran, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 4:02 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 09:02 GMT)
3.0

10 km
25 km (16 mi)Java, 7.7 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 3:56 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 08:56 GMT)
3.0

12 km
30 km (19 mi)Java, 1.6 km southeast of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 3:29 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 08:29 GMT)
3.4

16 km
31 km (19 mi)Java, 5.8 km east of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 07:01 GMT)
2.6

22 km
30 km (19 mi)Java, 5.8 km east of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 10:45 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 03:45 GMT)
3.2

14 km
27 km (17 mi)Java, 5.9 km northwest of Salatiga, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:56 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 02:56 GMT)
3.0

27 km
35 km (22 mi)Java, 6 km northeast of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:51 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 02:51 GMT)
3.3

10 km
24 km (15 mi)Java, 7.4 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:34 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2021 02:34 GMT)
3.0

12 km
35 km (22 mi)Java, 6 km northeast of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 22:39 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 5:39 am (GMT +7) (Oct 22, 2021 22:39 GMT)
2.9

10 km
27 km (17 mi)Java, 4.1 km south of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 5:29 am (GMT +7) (Oct 22, 2021 22:29 GMT)
2.8

14 km
35 km (22 mi)Java, 3.8 km north of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 12:32 am (GMT +7) (Oct 22, 2021 17:32 GMT)
2.9

10 km
27 km (17 mi)Java, 6.6 km southwest of Ambarawa, Central Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.7 x 1010 joules (18.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 15.9 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Merapi volcano seen from the south
Merapi volcano seen from the south
Merapi volcano seen from Yogyakarta
Merapi volcano seen from Yogyakarta
Canyons and standing blocks, remnants of the old S flank of Merapi, reshaped by landslides
Canyons and standing blocks, remnants of the old S flank of Merapi, reshaped by landslides
Merapi's lava dome
Merapi's lava dome
Spines at the lava dome of Merapi
Spines at the lava dome of Merapi
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.