Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Smooth fracture surfaces at the lava dome: trees, having their roots reach into the tiniest crevasses, are clinging onto the vertical walls like free-climbers.
Smooth fracture surfaces at the lava dome: trees, having their roots reach into the tiniest crevasses, are clinging onto the vertical walls like free-climbers.

Latest earthquakes near Methana volcano past 14 days

Updated 23 Jan 2021 02:32 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Methana volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.2 and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.2 quake Aegean Sea, 9.1 km east of Aegina Island, Attica, Greece, 12 Jan 2021 12:12 am (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 1.1 quake 19 Km E From Corinth, Greece, 22 Jan 2021 12:11 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
22 Jan 2021 12:11 am (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 22:11:39 GMT)
1.1

5 km
(39 km)19 Km E From Corinth, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 11:39 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 21:39:37 GMT)
1.5

5 km
(32 km)20 Km ESE From Corinth, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 10:57 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 20:57:07 GMT)
1.3

5 km
Methana (18 km) - Saronic Gulf, Greece25 Km WSW From Aigina, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 10:34 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 20:34:40 GMT)
1.2

26 km
Sousaki (23 km)Messenia, 94 km northeast of Megalopolis, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 9:08 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 19:08:23 GMT)
1.7

6.2 km
Methana (24 km) - Saronic Gulf, Greece27 Km N From Spetsai, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:36 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 16:36:36 GMT)
1.8

12 km
Methana (8.7 km) - Saronic Gulf, Greece5 Km NW From Poros, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 11:56:46 GMT)
1.6

10 km
Sousaki (42 km)10 Km SSE From Corinth, Greece MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 11:56:32 GMT)
1.3

14 km
Sousaki (46 km)13 Km SSW From Corinth, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 9:15 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 19:15:46 GMT)
1.5

10 km
Methana (20 km) - Saronic Gulf, Greece8 Km NW From Aigina, Greece MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 9:14 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 19:14:02 GMT)
1.4

12 km
Methana (22 km) - Saronic Gulf, Greece11 Km NW From Aigina, Greece MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 5:07 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 15:07:22 GMT)
2.2

72 km
Methana (39 km) - Saronic Gulf, GreeceAegean Sea, 3.9 km southeast of Drepano, Nomos Argolidos, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
12 Jan 2021 12:12 am (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 22:12:03 GMT)
3.2

5 km
Methana (27 km) - Saronic Gulf, GreeceAegean Sea, 9.1 km east of Aegina Island, Attica, Greece MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 11:51 pm (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 21:51:04 GMT)
2.5

17 km
Methana (25 km) - Saronic Gulf, GreeceAegean Sea, 3.7 km west of Nisida Soupia Island, Attica, Greece MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 11:03 pm (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 21:03:35 GMT)
1.6

10 km
Sousaki (26 km)Aegean Sea, 4.2 km northwest of Nisida Stachtorogi Island, Attica, Greece MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 10:06 pm (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 20:06:50 GMT)
1.7

10 km
Sousaki (27 km)Aegean Sea, 5.2 km north of Nisida Stachtorogi Island, Attica, Greece MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 9:25 pm (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 19:25:03 GMT)
1.3

13 km
Methana (21 km) - Saronic Gulf, GreeceAegean Sea, 1.8 km south of Nisida Stachtorogi Island, Attica, Greece MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 7:53 pm (GMT +2) (11 Jan 2021 17:53:55 GMT)
1.6

17 km
Methana (10.9 km) - Saronic Gulf, GreeceAegean Sea, 5.3 km east of Methana, Nomos Piraios, Attica, Greece MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.6 x 109 joules (1.29 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.11 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.