Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
22-29 May 2021: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island (Greece)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
7-15 May 2022: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

Latest earthquakes near Mikura-jima volcano past 14 days

Updated 12 Apr 2021 20:31 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Mikura-jima volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.7 quake North Pacific Ocean, 79 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan, 5 Apr 2021 9:31 am (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 3.3 quake Philippines Sea, 43 km northwest of Hachijojima Island, Japan, Apr 12, 2021 11:27:26.96
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Mon, 12 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 12, 2021 11:27:26.96 (12 Apr 2021 02:27:26 GMT)
3.3

28 km
(62 km)Philippines Sea, 43 km northwest of Hachijojima Island, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 11, 2021 11:51:06.02 (11 Apr 2021 02:51:06 GMT)
3.1

48 km
(79 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Apr 10, 2021 19:18:12.83 (10 Apr 2021 10:18:12 GMT)
3.1

49 km
(78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Apr 10, 2021 16:39:59.75 (10 Apr 2021 07:39:59 GMT)
2.6

51 km
(73 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 10, 2021 02:24:31.56 (9 Apr 2021 17:24:31 GMT)
2.7

120 km
(72 km)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km northeast of Shikine-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Apr 2021 6:06 am (GMT +9) (8 Apr 2021 21:06:37 GMT)
2.5

14 km
(80 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Apr 2021 7:33 pm (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 10:33:30 GMT)
2.5

56 km
(81 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 8:26 pm (GMT +9) (6 Apr 2021 11:26:10 GMT)
2.5

46 km
(77 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Apr 2021 3:00 am (GMT +9) (5 Apr 2021 18:00:26 GMT)
3.4

94 km
(47 km)North Pacific Ocean, 51 km north of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
5 Apr 2021 10:09 am (GMT +9) (5 Apr 2021 01:09:30 GMT)
2.9

56 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
5 Apr 2021 9:31 am (GMT +9) (5 Apr 2021 00:31:48 GMT)
4.7

60 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 1:58 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 16:58:17 GMT)
2.6

54 km
(76 km)North Pacific Ocean, 82 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 1:51 pm (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 04:51:20 GMT)
2.5

65 km
(74 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 1:29 pm (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 04:29:34 GMT)
2.7

54 km
(71 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km south of Tateyama, Chiba, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 9:15 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 00:15:43 GMT)
2.9

51 km
(78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 8:35 am (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 23:35:25 GMT)
2.5

51 km
(77 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:33 pm (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 11:33:15 GMT)
2.7

83 km
(104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southeast of Tateyama, Chiba, Japan MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 9:06 am (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 00:06:03 GMT)
2.6

45 km
(80 km)North Pacific Ocean, 87 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:07 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 23:07:46 GMT)
4.0

178 km
(72 km)Philippines Sea, 43 km west of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 10:14 pm (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 13:14:58 GMT)
2.9

55 km
(77 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 8:04 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 23:04:34 GMT)
2.6

28 km
(82 km)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 5:27 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 20:27:40 GMT)
2.9

42 km
(82 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 3:54 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 06:54:17 GMT)
2.8

54 km
(76 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Mar 2021 6:28 am (GMT +9) (29 Mar 2021 21:28:01 GMT)
2.7

49 km
(84 km)North Pacific Ocean, 87 km northeast of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8 x 1011 joules (223 megawatt hours, equivalent to 192 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.