Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
22-29 May 2021: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island (Greece)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
7-15 May 2022: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

Earthquakes near Mikura-jima volcano during the year 2020

Updated 10 May 2021 04:24 GMT -
During 2020, Mikura-jima volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.3 quake North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Shikine-jima Island, Japan, 23 Dec 2020 7:45 am (GMT +9)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Dec 2020 6:56 pm (GMT +9) (26 Dec 2020 09:56:25 GMT)
3.1

116 km
40 km (25 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 96 km south of Tateyama, Chiba, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Dec 2020 7:45 am (GMT +9) (22 Dec 2020 22:45:02 GMT)
4.3

103 km
25 km (16 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Shikine-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Dec 2020 9:26 pm (GMT +9) (20 Dec 2020 12:26:51 GMT)
2.9

162 km
10.8 km (6.7 mi)Philippines Sea, 75 km north of Hachijojima Island, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Dec 2020 12:27 am (GMT +9) (18 Dec 2020 15:27:38 GMT)
2.8

101 km
25 km (16 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 135 km south of Tateyama, Chiba, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Dec 2020 7:03 pm (GMT +9) (15 Dec 2020 10:03:11 GMT)
2.8

14 km
29 km (18 mi)Philippines Sea, 79 km southeast of Shimoda, Shizuoka, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 30 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Nov 2020 10:23 pm (GMT +9) (30 Nov 2020 13:23:30 GMT)
3.9

20 km
32 km (20 mi)Philippine Sea, 77 km southeast of Shimoda, Shizuoka, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 24 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 May 2020 12:10 pm (GMT +0) (24 May 2020 12:10:30 GMT)
4.2

20 km
13 km (8.1 mi)211 km south of Tokyo, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 1011 joules (98.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 84.8 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.