Morne Trois Pitons volcano

Updated: Aug 12, 2022 02:18 GMT - Refresh
Complex volcano 1387 m / 4,550 ft
West Indies, Dominica, 15.37°N / -61.33°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Morne Trois Pitons volcano eruptions: 920 AD ± 50 years
Lastest nearby earthquakes:
TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Thursday, August 11, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 11, 2022 8:55 am (GMT -4) (Aug 11, 2022 12:55 GMT)
2.4

12 km
7.4 km (4.6 mi)
Saint Joseph, 15 km north of Roseau, Saint George, Dominica
Aug 11, 2022 6:09 am (GMT -4) (Aug 11, 2022 10:09 GMT)
2.5

145 km
50 km (31 mi)
Caribbean Sea, 56 km north of Fort-de-France, Martinique
Aug 11, 2022 6:08 am (GMT -4) (Aug 11, 2022 10:08 GMT)
2.1

148 km
64 km (40 mi)
North Atlantic Ocean, 57 km northeast of Fort-de-France, Martinique
Aug 10, 2022 11:50 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 11, 2022 03:50 GMT)
2.3

150 km
34 km (21 mi)
Caribbean Sea, 38 km east of Roseau, Saint George, Dominica
Tuesday, August 2, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 2, 2022 2:09 am (GMT -4) (Aug 2, 2022 06:09 GMT)
2.1

118 km
40 km (25 mi)
Caribbean Sea, 48 km east of Roseau, Saint George, Dominica

Background

Two large lava-domes complexes, Morne Trois Pitons and Micotrin, rise NE of the capital city of Roseau in central Dominica. Micotrin (Morne Macaque) dome lies immediately south of the larger 1387-m-high Morne Trois Pitons; small lakes are located in the saddle between the two domes and on the eastern flank of Micotrin. The domes are located along the margin of a large semi-circular depression on the western coast of central Dominica, whose origin has been variously attributed to caldera collapse, gravity sliding, or the juxtaposition of several independent volcanic centers. The area is the source of the voluminous, mostly submarine Roseau Tuff, a thick sequence of pyroclastic flows erupted between about 40,000 and 25,000 years ago. It is considered to have originated from calderas at Morne Trois Piton and Wotten Waven, the latter an elliptical NE-SW-trending caldera containing Microtin at its NE end. Explosive eruptions at the Trois Piton-Microtin complex producing pyroclastic flows continued into the late Pleistocene and Holocene. The youngest dated eruption took place about 800 AD, but other smaller eruptions may have occurred since.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings