Moutohora Island volcano

Complex 354 m / 1161 ft
New Zealand, -37.86°S / 176.98°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Moutohora Island volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than 2.58 million years ago (Pleistocene)

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 17:13 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 5:13 am (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2021 17:13 GMT)
2.8

99 km
35 km (22 mi)
South Pacific Ocean, 42 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Sep 21, 2021 4:47 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2021 04:47 GMT)
2.8

207 km
24 km (15 mi)
South Pacific Ocean, 50 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 12:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 12:27 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 12:27 GMT)
3.2

35 km
24 km (15 mi)
Opotiki District, 17 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 09:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 14, 2021 9:03 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 09:03 GMT)
3.1

62 km
50 km (31 mi)
39 km south of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Background

Moutohora (Whale) Island forms the summit of a largely submerged Pleistocene dacitic-andesitic complex volcano that lies 11 km offshore from Whakatane in the Bay of Plenty. The island is 15 x 5 km wide and elongated E-W. The 354-m-high central dome complex is flanked by East Dome, which forms the eastern tip of the island and is the oldest of the domes, and Pa Hill lava dome, which forms the NW tip of the island. Acid hot springs, steaming ground, and fumaroles are located primarily between the central cone and East Dome. The central cone and east dome are both older than the roughly 42,000 before present (BP) Rotoehu Tephra, and Pa Hill dome is overlain by the 9000 years BP Rotoma Ash but may be considerably older. It was included in the Catalog of Active Volcanoes of the World (Nairn and Cole, 1975) based on its thermal activity.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.