Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News
Fri, 24 Apr 2015, 22:32
The alert level was lowered back to the lowest level green, after signs of unrest at the volcano gradually had declined during the past weeks. ... read all
Mon, 23 Mar 2015, 08:43
Earthquakes (yellow and red circles) near Ngauruhoe during the past 14 days
New Zealand's GNS Science reports an increase in earthquakes under the volcano, interpreted as weak signs of volcanic unrest. The Volcanic Alert Level was raised to level 1 (minor volcanic unrest), but no eruption is expected in the near future. ... read all
 

Ngauruhoe volcano

Stratovolcano 1978 m (6,489 ft)
North Island, New Zealand, -39.13°S / 175.64°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Ngauruhoe webcams / live data | Reports
Ngauruhoe volcano books | Tours
Last update: 24 Apr 2015
Typical eruption style: Explosive
Ngauruhoe volcano eruptions: 1975-77, 1972, 1968-69, 1962, 1958-59, 1956, 1948-54, 1939-40, 1937, 1934, 1931, 1924-28, 1917, 1913-14, 1909-10, 1904-07, 1897-98, 1892, 1883, 1881, 1878, 1875, 1869-70, 1862-64, 1857, 1844, 1841, 1839, 550 BC ± 200 Ngauruhoe volcano seen from Tongariro; Ruhapehu volcano in the background.
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Sat, 17 Oct 2020 (UTC)
17 Oct 10:15 pm (GMT +13) (17 Oct 09:15:34 UTC)M 2.1 / 102 km23 km30 Km W of Turangi, New Zealand
Fri, 16 Oct 2020 (UTC)
17 Oct 6:26 am (GMT +13) (16 Oct 17:26:36 UTC)M 1.9 / 100.3 km3 km24 Km S of Turangi, New Zealand
Thu, 15 Oct 2020 (UTC)
16 Oct 9:06 am (GMT +13) (15 Oct 20:06:10 UTC)M 1.9 / 160 km20 km26 Km S of Turangi, New Zealand
Thu, 24 Sep 2020 (UTC)
25 Sep 9:20 am (GMT +12) (24 Sep 21:20:29 UTC)M 1.7 / 4 km1 km21 Km SW of Turangi, New Zealand
24 Sep 11:44 pm (GMT +12) (24 Sep 11:44:23 UTC)M 1.2 / 4.4 km1 km21 Km SW of Turangi, New Zealand
View all recent quakes
Ngauruhoe (pronouned "Nauruhó"), a steep 600 m tall stratovolcano 17 km NNE of Ruhapehu volcano, is the main vent of Tongariro volcano and one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes. Its last eruptive phase in 1975-77 produced violent ash explosions, lava fountains and pyroclastic flows. In its recent past, Ngauruhoe has been erupting around every 10 years and the time lapsed since then makes this the longest repose interval known in its recorded history.

Background:

Ngauruhoe is the youngest and most active cone of the large Tongariro volcanic complex, and forms today its highest peak. Ngauruhoe started to grow about 2500 years ago and has been frequently active in historic times.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.