Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 mei 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: ruimten beschikbaar / : gegarandeerd / : enkele spaties links / : geboekt uit
News

Geen nieuws in deze lijst:

 

Leonard Range vulkaan

stratovulkaan 1080 m / 3,543 ft
Mindanao, Filipijnen, 7.38°N / 126.05°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Leonard Range (also known as Leonard Kniazeff) volcano is an andesitic-dacitic volcanic complex with a 4x5 km caldera. It is located east of Davao Gulf in SE Mindanao, east of the major N-S-trending Philippine Fault and belongs to the East Mindanao Arc.
The last activity of Leonard Range probably occurred about 1800 years ago, indicated by radiocarbon dating of charred wood found in a pyroclastic flow deposit on the edge of the caldera.
The caldera contains Lake Leonard known for its abundance of fish species and as a surviving habitat of the rare Philippine crocodile.
Several thermal areas and solfataras occur at Leonard Range.

Typical eruption style: explosive
Leonard Range vulkaanuitbarstingen: 120 AD ± 100 years (radiocarbon dated)

Laatste aardbevingen in de omgeving

TijdMag. / DiepteAfstandLocatie
Sun, 22 Nov 2020 (GMT)
22 November 2020 - 02:50 PM (PST) (22 Nov 2020 06:50:00 GMT)
2.0

5 km - More
8 kmCompostela Valley, Davao Region, 2.7 km northwest of Adoy (Compostela Valley, Davao), Philippines
22 Nov 2.50 pm (GMT +8) (22 Nov 2020 06:50:00 GMT)
2.0

1 km - More
23 km5.4 km southeast of Bantacan, Davao de Oro, Philippines
Sat, 21 Nov 2020 (GMT)
21 Nov 7.12 pm (GMT +8) (21 Nov 2020 11:12:00 GMT)
4.0

5 km - More
26 kmCompostela Valley, Davao Region, 20 km southeast of Compostela (Davao), Philippines
21 Nov 8.06 am (GMT +8) (21 Nov 2020 00:06:00 GMT)
2.9

2 km - More
26 kmCompostela Valley, Davao Region, 15 km southeast of Compostela (Davao), Philippines
Fri, 13 Nov 2020 (GMT)
13 November 2020 - 01:39 PM (PST) (13 Nov 2020 05:39:00 GMT)
2.2

28 km - More
18 kmCompostela Valley, Davao, 8.5 km southeast of Maco, Philippines
Bekijk alle recente aardbevingen

Background

The earliest known activity at the Leonard Range was 1.1 million years ago. A series of lava domes were built in the area around Lake Leonard from about 290,000 years ago. The latest epoch of activity occurred during the past 20,000 years and produced the Paloc pyroclastic deposits during an eruption between 6,000-1,800 years ago, which also formed the caldera.
The Leonard Range (or North Davao) area is the site of a geothermal exploration program.
Manat thermal area is located north of Lake Leonard, solfataras occur its SW rim, and active solfataras, fumaroles, and hot springs are found in the Amacan-Gopod thermal area south of the lake.

Lake Leonard is located inside the caldera and contains freshwater with fish species including Anguila pacifica, Clarias batrachus, Glossogobius giurus, Ophicephalus striatus and Tilapia mossambica. It is also home to the the endangered Philippine crocodile Crocodylus mindorensis which is found at the lake during the breeding season in July-September. (Source: Haribon Foundation, summarized in Lake Leonard).

Meest recente satellietbeelden


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

Meer op VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery en andere bronnen zoals.
Materiaalgebruik: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.