Earthquakes near Santo Tomas volcano during May 2021

Updated 2 Aug 2021 09:05 GMT -
During May 2021, Santo Tomas volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.0 quake 14 km south of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines, 20 May 2021 - 03:08 AM (PST)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sun, 30 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 May 2021 - 11:34 PM (PST) (30 May 2021 15:34:00 GMT)
2.5

24 km
37 km (23 mi)23 km west of Bambang, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
Sat, 29 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 May 2021 - 07:07 PM (PST) (29 May 2021 11:07:00 GMT)
3.1

109 km
27 km (17 mi)13 km southeast of San Fernando, Province of La Union, Ilocos, Philippines MoreMap
Sat, 22 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 May 2021 - 04:28 AM (PST) (22 May 2021 20:28:00 GMT)
2.2

22 km
7.4 km (4.6 mi)3.2 km southwest of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Thu, 20 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 May 2021 - 03:44 PM (PST) (20 May 2021 07:44:00 GMT)
2.6

23 km
34 km (21 mi)12 km east of San Fernando, Province of La Union, Ilocos, Philippines MoreMap
Wed, 19 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 May 2021 - 03:08 AM (PST) (19 May 2021 19:08:00 GMT)
4.0

15 km
3.3 km (2.1 mi)14 km south of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines 23 reportsMoreMap
19 May 2021 - 07:21 PM (PST) (19 May 2021 11:21:00 GMT)
2.3

68 km
30 km (19 mi)14 km south of San Fernando, Province of La Union, Ilocos, Philippines MoreMap
Mon, 17 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 May 2021 - 08:48 PM (PST) (17 May 2021 12:48:00 GMT)
1.6

39 km
47 km (29 mi)South China Sea, 25 km west of Aringay, Philippines MoreMap
17 May 2021 - 08:40 PM (PST) (17 May 2021 12:40:00 GMT)
2.4

25 km
44 km (27 mi)South China Sea, 22 km southwest of San Fernando, Philippines MoreMap
Thu, 13 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 May 2021 - 02:47 AM (PST) (13 May 2021 18:47:00 GMT)
1.9

21 km
16 km (9.9 mi)Province of La Union, Ilocos, 17 km west of Baguio City, Philippines MoreMap
14 May 2021 - 02:47 AM (PST) (13 May 2021 18:47:00 GMT)
2.0

26 km
47 km (29 mi)South China Sea, 16 km southwest of San Fernando, Philippines MoreMap
Wed, 12 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 May 2021 - 08:40 PM (PST) (12 May 2021 12:40:00 GMT)
1.5

36 km
42 km (26 mi)24 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
Mon, 10 May 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
11 May 2021 - 04:02 AM (PST) (10 May 2021 20:02:00 GMT)
1.5

34 km
46 km (29 mi)20 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
11 May 2021 - 04:02 AM (PST) (10 May 2021 20:02:00 GMT)
1.9

34 km
46 km (29 mi)20 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
11 May 2021 - 04:00 AM (PST) (10 May 2021 20:00:00 GMT)
2.4

32 km
47 km (29 mi)19 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines 1 reportMoreMap
11 May 2021 - 03:47 AM (PST) (10 May 2021 19:47:00 GMT)
3.1

2 km
50 km (31 mi)21 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
10 May 2021 - 10:41 PM (PST) (10 May 2021 14:41:00 GMT)
2.3

28 km
42 km (26 mi)27 km west of Bayombong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
10 May 2021 - 10:41 PM (PST) (10 May 2021 14:41:00 GMT)
1.8

32 km
47 km (29 mi)15 km northwest of Bambang, Philippines MoreMap
Sun, 2 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
03 May 2021 - 01:54 AM (PST) (2 May 2021 17:54:00 GMT)
1.8

36 km
26 km (16 mi)17 km east of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.1 x 1010 joules (19.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.9 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.