Piton des Nieges volcano

Shield 3070 m / 10072 ft
France, -21.08°S / 55.48°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Piton des Nieges volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than 2.58 million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 12:45 pm (GMT +4) (Sep 16, 2021 08:45:09 GMT)
1.3

12 km
8.9 km (5.5 mi)
Réunion: Near Saint-Denis
Thu, Sep 9, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 9, 2021 4:50 am (GMT +4) (Sep 9, 2021 00:50:30 GMT)
1.5

0.3 km
30 km (19 mi)
19 km east of Le Tampon, Réunion
Sun, Sep 5, 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Sep 5, 2021 1:09 pm (GMT +4) (Sep 5, 2021 09:09:32 GMT)
1.4

10.9 km
9.2 km (5.7 mi)
Réunion: Near Saint-Denis
Sep 5, 2021 8:31 am (GMT +4) (Sep 5, 2021 04:31:49 GMT)
1.4

11 km
16 km (9.9 mi)
Réunion: Near Saint-Denis

Background

The massive Piton des Nieges shield volcano occupies the NW side of Reunion Island. The now 3070-m-high volcano emerged from the sea about 2.1 million years ago, beginning construction of a basaltic subaerial shield volcano that was active in two stages. Three large central depression dissect the island, and large submarine debris-avalanche deposits are found offshore. The latest eruptions of Piton des Nieges occurred as recently as about 12,000 years ago.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.