Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Minatitlan, Veracruz, Mexico, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated May 10, 2022 08:38 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 66 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 2387 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Minatitlan has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.2, 7 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 66 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 2387 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 68 km S of Loma Bonita, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.2 | 13 km NW of Ocozocoautla de Espinosa, Chiapas, Mexico -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (2461 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 9, 2022 11:07 am (GMT -5) (May 9, 2022 16:07 GMT)
4.1

90 km
139 km (86 mi)68 km south of Loma Bonita, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
May 5, 2022 2:51 am (GMT -5) (May 5, 2022 07:51 GMT)
4.0

10 km
72 km (45 mi)12 km southeast of Isla, Veracruz, Mexico MoreMap
May 3, 2022 12:19 pm (GMT -5) (May 3, 2022 17:19 GMT)
4.1

157 km
119 km (74 mi)42 km south of Minatitlan, Veracruz, Mexico MoreMap
May 2, 2022 11:07 am (GMT -5) (May 2, 2022 16:07 GMT)
4.0

134 km
126 km (78 mi)Oaxaca, 58 km west of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 29, 2022 12:24 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 29, 2022 17:24 GMT)
4.1

132 km
153 km (95 mi)Veracruz, 54 km northeast of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 28, 2022 6:41 am (GMT -5) (Apr 28, 2022 11:41 GMT)
4.0

157 km
98 km (61 mi)Oaxaca, 56 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 28, 2022 1:11 am (GMT -5) (Apr 28, 2022 06:11 GMT)
4.1

141 km
150 km (93 mi)Veracruz, 58 km northeast of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 27, 2022 11:22 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 28, 2022 04:22 GMT)
4.2

187 km
82 km (51 mi)Oaxaca, 60 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 27, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 27, 2022 23:53 GMT)
4.1

171 km
89 km (55 mi)Oaxaca, 51 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 25, 2022 11:19 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 26, 2022 04:19 GMT)
4.0

168 km
96 km (60 mi)Oaxaca, 60 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 24, 2022 6:30 am (GMT -5) (Apr 24, 2022 11:30 GMT)
4.0

138 km
139 km (86 mi)Veracruz, 68 km northeast of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 21, 2022 10:30 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 22, 2022 03:30 GMT)
4.1

135 km
115 km (71 mi)Oaxaca, 38 km west of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 21, 2022 10:34 am (GMT -5) (Apr 21, 2022 15:34 GMT)
4.1

182 km
90 km (56 mi)64 km south of Las Choapas, Veracruz, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 20, 2022 12:59 am (GMT -5) (Apr 20, 2022 05:59 GMT)
4.3

122 km
129 km (80 mi)Oaxaca, 44 km west of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 19, 2022 1:51 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 19, 2022 18:51 GMT)
4.5

96 km
207 km (129 mi)34 km northwest of Juchitan de Zaragoza, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 18, 2022 5:07 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 18, 2022 22:07 GMT)
4.0

156 km
98 km (61 mi)Oaxaca, 63 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1015 joules (1880 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.6 x 106 tons of TNT or 101.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Minatitlan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Minatitlan?

The last earthquake in Minatitlan occurred 10 days ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 68 km south of Loma Bonita, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Monday, May 9, 2022 at 11:07 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Minatitlan since 1900?

Since 1900, Minatitlan, Veracruz, Mexico had 2461 quakes up to magnitude 7.2.

What was the strongest quake in Minatitlan since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Minatitlan since 1900 occurred 27 years ago: Major magnitude 7.2 earthquake - 13 km northwest of Ocozocoautla de Espinosa, Chiapas, Mexico, on Saturday, October 21, 1995 at 02:38 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 09:34 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.