Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Mangatainoka, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, December 8, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 8, 2022 13:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 9 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Mangatainoka had 8 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.5 earthquake occurred in Taranaki, New Zealand, 9 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.4 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.5 | 60 km SE of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mangatainoka, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours15 quakes8 quakes M2+
Past 7 days150 quakes52 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+
Past 30 days693 quakes257 quakes M2+28 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,869 quakes685 quakes M2+55 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days8,105 quakes2,880 quakes M2+268 quakes M3+20 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 8, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Dec 8, 2022 9:32 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 08:32 GMT)
1.4

27 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 9:27 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 08:27 GMT)
1.5

23 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 7:35 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 06:35 GMT)
1.5

57 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 7:19 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 06:19 GMT)
2.2

60 km
Tasman Sea, 81 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 7:06 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 06:06 GMT)
1.5

83 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 5:24 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 04:24 GMT)
2.5

193 km
60 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 02:28 GMT)
2.2

26 km
20 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 1:51 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 00:51 GMT)
2.4

59 km
Hawke's Bay, 38 km east of North Island, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 1:06 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 8, 2022 00:06 GMT)
1.2

12 km
New Zealand More
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Dec 8, 2022 11:12 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 22:12 GMT)
1.9

22 km
13 km east of Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 19:32 GMT)
2.1

19 km
23 km east of Wellington, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 8:20 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 19:20 GMT)
2.2

27 km
Tasman Sea, 50 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 8:04 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 19:04 GMT)
0.7

15 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 7:17 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 18:17 GMT)
2.0

33 km
Tasman Sea, 97 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 5:37 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 16:37 GMT)
0.9

18 km
New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 4:58 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 15:58 GMT)
2.1

8.8 km
Tasman Sea, 23 km south of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Dec 8, 2022 3:40 am (GMT +13) (Dec 7, 2022 14:40 GMT)
1.7

16 km
18 km south of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 109 joules (372 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.32 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Mangatainoka Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mangatainoka?

The last earthquake in Mangatainoka occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.4 earthquake - New Zealand on Thursday, Dec 8, 2022 at 9:32 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Mangatainoka today?

In the past 24 hours, Mangatainoka, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 17 quakes up to magnitude 2.5.

What was the strongest quake in Mangatainoka today?

The strongest earthquake in Mangatainoka today occurred 9 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - 60 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Thursday, Dec 8, 2022 at 5:24 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 8, 2022 13:52 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings