Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, February 5, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 5, 2023 01:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 14 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Rotorua had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 11 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 3.3 earthquake occurred in Waikato, New Zealand, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.6 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | 35 km SE of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours25 quakes12 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days190 quakes91 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+1 quake M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days821 quakes376 quakes M2+40 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days2,900 quakes1,302 quakes M2+141 quakes M3+17 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+
Past 365 days9,235 quakes4,244 quakes M2+479 quakes M3+35 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (27 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, February 5, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 5, 2023 1:26 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 00:26 GMT)
0.6

12 km
New Zealand More
Saturday, February 4, 2023 GMT (26 quakes)
Feb 5, 2023 11:51 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 22:51 GMT)
1.9

21 km
20 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 11:18 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 22:18 GMT)
2.1

5.1 km
3 km southwest of Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 11:16 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 22:16 GMT)
2.6

5 km
40 km northeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 5, 2023 10:11 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 21:11 GMT)
2.3

115 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 9:26 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 20:26 GMT)
2.1

20 km
Taranaki, 85 km north of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 9:05 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 20:05 GMT)
1.5

29 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 8:26 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 19:26 GMT)
1.9

63 km
96 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 8:18 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 19:18 GMT)
1.9

47 km
95 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 5:43 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 16:43 GMT)
2.8

36 km
22 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 4:34 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 15:34 GMT)
1.6

5 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 4:25 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 15:25 GMT)
1.7

5 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 4:08 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 15:08 GMT)
2.3

184 km
South Pacific Ocean, 38 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 2:58 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 13:58 GMT)
2.0

5 km
19 km west of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 2:51 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 13:51 GMT)
1.6

90 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 1:29 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 12:29 GMT)
3.3

168 km
35 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Feb 5, 2023 12:38 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 11:38 GMT)
2.4

199 km
21 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 12:19 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 11:19 GMT)
0.7

7.1 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 9:50 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 08:50 GMT)
1.6

5 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 9:03 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 08:03 GMT)
1.6

24 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 7:19 pm (GMT +12) (Feb 4, 2023 07:19 GMT)
2.4

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 100 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1010 joules (3.25 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.79 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Rotorua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Rotorua?

The last earthquake in Rotorua occurred 57 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.6 earthquake - New Zealand on Sunday, Feb 5, 2023 at 1:26 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Rotorua today?

In the past 24 hours, Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand had 27 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Rotorua today?

The strongest earthquake in Rotorua today occurred 13 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.3 earthquake - 35 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand, on Sunday, Feb 5, 2023 at 1:29 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 5, 2023 01:23 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings