Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near San Francisco, Departamento de Chinandega, Nicaragua, past 30 days

Updated 10 Apr 2021 20:18 GMT -
During the past 30 days, San Francisco was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 21 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.1 quake North Pacific Ocean, 68 km west of Corinto, Nicaragua, 17 Mar 2021 6:10 am (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 3.5 quake Departamento de Valle, 41 km west of Choluteca, Honduras, 2021-04-10 03:49:04
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (44 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-04-10 03:49:04 (10 Apr 2021 09:49:04 GMT)
3.5

294 km
Isla Zacate (16 km) - HondurasDepartamento de Valle, 41 km west of Choluteca, Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
10 Apr 2021 04:48:27 GMT
2.8

7 km
Conchagüita (14 km) - El SalvadorNorth Pacific Ocean, 22 km south of La Union, La Unión, La Union, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2021-04-09 20:04:27 (10 Apr 2021 02:04:27 GMT)
1.6

5 km
Telica (3 km)20 km north of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Apr 2021 9:58 pm (GMT -6) (9 Apr 2021 03:58:48 GMT)
2.9

5 km
Cosigüina (17 km)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Apr 2021 7:54 am (GMT -6) (8 Apr 2021 13:54:38 GMT)
2.0

7 km
(43 km)North Pacific Ocean, 14 km south of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
8 Apr 2021 7:54 am (GMT -6) (8 Apr 2021 13:54:19 GMT)
3.0

9 km
Cosigüina (90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Apr 2021 4:43 am (GMT -6) (5 Apr 2021 10:43:59 GMT)
2.8

31 km
(74 km)North Pacific Ocean, 56 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 6:55 pm (GMT -6) (5 Apr 2021 00:55:28 GMT)
2.9

35 km
Cosigüina (68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 3:31 am (GMT -6) (3 Apr 2021 09:31:30 GMT)
3.0

30 km
(37 km)North Pacific Ocean, 50 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Apr 2021 11:03 am (GMT -6) (2 Apr 2021 17:03:26 GMT)
2.8

95 km
(42 km)North Pacific Ocean, 15 km south of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 12:52 pm (GMT -6) (1 Apr 2021 18:52:18 GMT)
3.7

29 km
(72 km)North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 5:22 am (GMT -6) (1 Apr 2021 11:22:01 GMT)
3.7

42 km
Cosigüina (63 km)North Pacific Ocean, 76 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
29 Mar 2021 9:54 pm (GMT -6) (30 Mar 2021 03:54:16 GMT)
2.2

6 km
San Cristobal (6 km)21 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 9:50 pm (GMT -6) (30 Mar 2021 03:50:42 GMT)
1.8

11 km
San Cristobal (7 km)22 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 9:47 pm (GMT -6) (30 Mar 2021 03:47:17 GMT)
3.9

1 km
San Cristobal (12 km)28 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 7:50 pm (GMT -6) (29 Mar 2021 01:50:34 GMT)
3.3

3 km
Cosigüina (2 km)60 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
27 Mar 2021 3:36 am (GMT -6) (27 Mar 2021 09:36:56 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Cosigüina (31 km)37 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
27 Mar 2021 2:54 am (GMT -6) (27 Mar 2021 08:54:12 GMT)
3.3

35 km
Cosigüina (57 km)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
27 Mar 2021 2:11 am (GMT -6) (27 Mar 2021 08:11:46 GMT)
3.6

32 km
Cosigüina (65 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Mar 2021 8:04 am (GMT -6) (25 Mar 2021 14:04:45 GMT)
2.8

142 km
San Cristobal (39 km)19 km south of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 10:37 pm (GMT -6) (25 Mar 2021 04:37:29 GMT)
3.4

5 km
San Cristobal (78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 8:51 pm (GMT -6) (25 Mar 2021 02:51:44 GMT)
3.3

31 km
Cosigüina (78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 80 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 10:39 am (GMT -6) (22 Mar 2021 16:39:37 GMT)
2.5

156 km
Telica (34 km)18 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 10:13 pm (GMT -6) (22 Mar 2021 04:13:54 GMT)
3.2

35 km
Cosigüina (69 km)North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Mar 2021 3:36 pm (GMT -6) (21 Mar 2021 21:36:11 GMT)
3.1

38 km
Cosigüina (61 km)North Pacific Ocean, 66 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 1:33 am (GMT -6) (21 Mar 2021 07:33:13 GMT)
2.9

32 km
Cosigüina (72 km)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Mar 2021 12:50 am (GMT -6) (20 Mar 2021 06:50:43 GMT)
4.0

36 km
Cosigüina (67 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Mar 2021 8:09 am (GMT -6) (19 Mar 2021 14:09:27 GMT)
3.3

38 km
Cosigüina (53 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
19 Mar 2021 4:12 am (GMT -6) (19 Mar 2021 10:12:10 GMT)
2.8

38 km
San Cristobal (67 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Mar 2021 6:36 am (GMT -6) (18 Mar 2021 12:36:00 GMT)
2.2

22 km
San Cristobal (64 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
18 Mar 2021 12:35 pm (GMT +0) (18 Mar 2021 12:35:59 GMT)
1.9

37 km
San Cristobal (72 km)North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Mar 2021 6:10 am (GMT -6) (17 Mar 2021 12:10:52 GMT)
4.1

39 km
Cosigüina (60 km)North Pacific Ocean, 68 km west of Corinto, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
17 Mar 2021 4:47 am (GMT -6) (17 Mar 2021 10:47:55 GMT)
3.0

64 km
Cosigüina (58 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
17 Mar 2021 3:27 am (GMT -6) (17 Mar 2021 09:27:15 GMT)
3.4

36 km
Cosigüina (62 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 16 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
15 Mar 2021 7:04 pm (GMT -6) (16 Mar 2021 01:04:54 GMT)
1.9

6 km
Cosigüina (10 km)51 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Mar 2021 7:04 pm (GMT -6) (16 Mar 2021 01:04:28 GMT)
2.4

6 km
Cosigüina (10 km)51 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Mar 2021 7:04 pm (GMT -6) (16 Mar 2021 01:04:25 GMT)
2.8

1 km
Cosigüina (36 km)North Pacific Ocean, 39 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 15 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Mar 2021 6:38 am (GMT -6) (15 Mar 2021 12:38:16 GMT)
3.8

163 km
Cosigüina (28 km)34 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 Mar 2021 8:58 pm (GMT -6) (15 Mar 2021 02:58:47 GMT)
2.6

16 km
Cosigüina (82 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 14 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Mar 2021 3:53 am (GMT -6) (14 Mar 2021 09:53:11 GMT)
3.0

82 km
Cosigüina (85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 104 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 13 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Mar 2021 9:47 am (GMT -6) (13 Mar 2021 15:47:21 GMT)
2.4

6 km
San Cristobal (26 km)22 km north of El Viejo, Departamento de Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
13 Mar 2021 3:22 am (GMT -6) (13 Mar 2021 09:22:15 GMT)
3.2

39 km
Cosigüina (62 km)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
12 Mar 2021 6:00 pm (GMT -6) (13 Mar 2021 00:00:11 GMT)
3.5

111 km
Cosigüina (64 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 12 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Mar 2021 8:37 am (GMT -6) (12 Mar 2021 14:37:37 GMT)
3.2

32 km
Cosigüina (72 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (107 megawatt hours, equivalent to 92 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.