Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Morigaon, Assam, India, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated May 15, 2022 16:27 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 51 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 239 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Morigaon has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.2, 7 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 51 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 239 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.0 | 9.4 km NW of Diphu, Karbi Anglong, Assam, India -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.2 | 13 km SW of Dergaon, Golaghat, Assam, India -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (298 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Apr 5, 2022 10:39 pm (GMT +5:30) (Apr 5, 2022 17:09 GMT)
4.0
440 km (273 mi)9.4 km northwest of Diphu, Karbi Anglong, Assam, India MoreMap
Mar 18, 2022 1:29 pm (GMT +5:30) (Mar 18, 2022 07:59 GMT)
4.2

318 km
493 km (306 mi)26 km north of Hojai, Assam, India MoreMap
Mar 17, 2022 5:45 pm (GMT +5:30) (Mar 17, 2022 12:15 GMT)
4.4

10 km
530 km (329 mi)37 km east of Guwahati, Kamrup Metro, Assam, India MoreMap
Mar 3, 2022 2:07 pm (GMT +5:30) (Mar 3, 2022 08:37 GMT)
4.2

75 km
396 km (246 mi)39 km south of Dimāpur, Dimapur, Nagaland, India MoreMap
Feb 12, 2022 3:50 pm (GMT +6) (Feb 12, 2022 09:50 GMT)
4.1

10 km
621 km (386 mi)Bhutan, 39 km north of Udalguri, Assam, India MoreMap
Jan 28, 2022 7:20 pm (GMT +6) (Jan 28, 2022 13:20 GMT)
4.5

263 km
658 km (409 mi)Bhutan: 109km NW of Guwahati, Assam, India MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 6:27 pm (GMT +5:30) (Jan 26, 2022 12:57 GMT)
4.0

10 km
577 km (359 mi)Assam, India MoreMap
Jan 25, 2022 1:11 am (GMT +5:30) (Jan 24, 2022 19:41 GMT)
4.5

24 km
549 km (341 mi)Meghalaya, India MoreMap
Jan 13, 2022 2:17 am (GMT +5:30) (Jan 12, 2022 20:47 GMT)
4.0

35 km
347 km (216 mi)43 km north of Imphal, Manipur, India 6 reportsMoreMap
Nov 26, 2021 6:45 am (GMT +6) (Nov 26, 2021 00:45 GMT)
4.6

327 km
648 km (403 mi)43 km northeast of Pemagatshel, Pemagatsel, Pemagatshel, Bhutan 3 reportsMoreMap
Nov 20, 2021 1:12 pm (GMT +5:30) (Nov 20, 2021 07:42 GMT)
4.1

10 km
567 km (352 mi)41 km west of Guwahati, Kamrup Metro, Assam, India 226 reportsMoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 11:58 am (GMT +5:30) (Sep 26, 2021 06:28 GMT)
4.0

307 km
353 km (219 mi)42 km east of Silchar, Cachar, Assam, India 1 reportMoreMap
Jun 19, 2021 1:07 am (GMT +5:30) (Jun 18, 2021 19:37 GMT)
4.2

30 km
550 km (342 mi)8 km west of Dhekiajuli, Sonitpur, Assam, India 251 reportsMoreMap
2021-06-18 02:04:40 IST (Jun 17, 2021 20:34 GMT)
4.1

22 km
563 km (350 mi)4.8 km northwest of Dhekiajuli, Sonitpur, Assam, India 398 reportsMoreMap
2021-05-30 14:23:06 IST (May 30, 2021 08:53 GMT)
4.1

16 km
562 km (349 mi)8.9 km west of Dhekiajuli, Sonitpur, Assam, India MoreMap
29 Apr 1:20 am (GMT +5:30) (Apr 28, 2021 19:54 GMT)
4.9

40 km
522 km (324 mi)10.8 km southeast of Khārupatia, Darrang, Assam, India 492 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.5 x 1015 joules (1517 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.3 x 106 tons of TNT or 81.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Morigaon Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Morigaon?

The last earthquake in Morigaon occurred 7 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.0 earthquake - 9.4 km northwest of Diphu, Karbi Anglong, Assam, India, on Tuesday, Apr 5, 2022 at 10:39 pm (GMT +5:30).

How many quakes were there in Morigaon since 1900?

Since 1900, Morigaon, Assam, India had 298 quakes up to magnitude 7.2.

What was the strongest quake in Morigaon since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Morigaon since 1900 occurred 79 years ago: Major magnitude 7.2 earthquake - 13 km southwest of Dergaon, Golaghat, Assam, India, on Saturday, October 23, 1943 at 17:23 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 25, 2022 09:39 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.