Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Ialibu, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 06:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 136 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Ialibu has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.3, 16 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 136 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | 53 km SW of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.3 | Western Province, 29 km SW of Tari, Papua New Guinea -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (153 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 20, 2022 4:09 pm (GMT +10) (Nov 20, 2022 06:09 GMT)
5.0

10 km
67 km (42 mi)53 km southwest of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea More
Sep 9, 2022 11:12 pm (GMT +10) (Sep 9, 2022 13:12 GMT)
5.2

1.6 km
43 km (27 mi)97 km west of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMore
Aug 29, 2022 2:53 pm (GMT +10) (Aug 29, 2022 04:53 GMT)
5.1

92 km
97 km (60 mi)Madang Province, 36 km north of Goroka, Papua New Guinea 3 reportsMore
Feb 23, 2022 3:25 pm (GMT +10) (Feb 23, 2022 05:25 GMT)
5.0

98 km
126 km (78 mi)Madang Province, 99 km north of Hagen, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMore
Feb 19, 2022 7:39 am (GMT +10) (Feb 18, 2022 21:39 GMT)
5.1

10 km
75 km (47 mi)Western Province, 56 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMore
13 May 9:32 pm (GMT +10) (May 13, 2021 11:32 GMT)
5.3

105 km
102 km (63 mi)67 km southwest of Madang, Papua New Guinea 9 reportsMore
21 Apr 2:47 pm (GMT +10) (Apr 21, 2021 04:47 GMT)
5.0

10 km
92 km (57 mi)45 km south of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea More
Dec 17, 2020 2:08 am (GMT +10) (Dec 16, 2020 16:08 GMT)
5.2

5 km
45 km (28 mi)42 km west of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMore
Aug 2, 2020 14:15 GMT
5.4

119 km
81 km (50 mi)49 km west of Madang, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMore
Mar 29, 2020 02:46 GMT
5.0

101 km
115 km (71 mi)Madang Province, 88 km north of Hagen, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMore
Mar 28, 2019 09:10 GMT
5.0

35 km
21 km (13 mi)68 km southwest of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMore
Feb 12, 2019 10:32 GMT
5.0

10 km
63 km (39 mi)34 km southeast of Ialibu, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMore
Apr 7, 2018 02:56 GMT
5.0

10 km
41 km (25 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 59 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 29, 2018 16:06 GMT
5.0

34 km
27 km (17 mi)76 km southwest of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 23, 2018 11:52 GMT
5.0

10 km
30 km (19 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 18 km south of Tari, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMore
Mar 8, 2018 03:33 GMT
5.3

10 km
41 km (25 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 37 km south of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 6, 2018 14:50 GMT
5.2

10 km
35 km (22 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 46 km south of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 6, 2018 14:40 GMT
5.3
27 km (17 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 55 km south of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 6, 2018 14:13 GMT
6.7

10 km
57 km (35 mi)Western Province, 53 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea 9 reportsMore
Mar 4, 2018 14:33 GMT
5.5

10 km
48 km (30 mi)Southern Highlands Province, 29 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Mar 4, 2018 12:40 GMT
5.0

10 km
50 km (31 mi)Western Province, 54 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1016 joules (3861 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.3 x 106 tons of TNT or 207.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Port Moresby, New Guinea (PMG/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Port Moresby, New Guinea: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Ialibu Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ialibu?

The last earthquake in Ialibu occurred 8 days ago: Strong mag. 5.0 earthquake - 53 km southwest of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea, on Sunday, Nov 20, 2022 at 4:09 pm (GMT +10).

How many quakes were there in Ialibu since 1900?

Since 1900, Ialibu, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea had 153 quakes up to magnitude 7.3.

What was the strongest quake in Ialibu since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Ialibu since 1900 occurred 5 years ago: Major magnitude 7.3 earthquake - Western Province, 29 km southwest of Tari, Papua New Guinea, on Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 17:44 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 16:36 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings