Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Bajamo, Provincia Granma, Cuba, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 19, 2022 14:01 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 67 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 42 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, Bajamo has had 3 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 16 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 67 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 42 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | North Atlantic Ocean, 59 km N of Puerto Padre, Las Tunas, Cuba -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.8 | 57 km SW of Niquero, Provincia Granma, Cuba -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3.1 or higher (128 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 8, 2022 6:33 am (GMT -5) (Nov 8, 2022 11:33 GMT)
5.0

10 km
1260 km (783 mi)Cuba Region 11 reportsMore
Sep 24, 2022 3:01 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 24, 2022 20:01 GMT)
4.3

16 km
1020 km (634 mi)66 Km Al Suroeste De Marea Del Portillo, Cuba 1 reportMore
Jun 28, 2022 10:11 am (GMT -4) (Jun 28, 2022 14:11 GMT)
3.8

10 km
1209 km (751 mi)Cuba Region 22 reportsMore
Nov 27, 2021 12:41 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 27, 2021 17:41 GMT)
3.8

24 km
1154 km (717 mi)Near Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba 4 reportsMore
Sep 26, 2021 7:41 am (GMT -4) (Sep 26, 2021 11:41 GMT)
4.3

3 km
1136 km (706 mi)69 Km Al Oeste De Santiago De Cuba 11 reportsMore
18 Jul 9:33 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 19, 2021 01:33 GMT)
4.2

10 km
1251 km (777 mi)40 Km SE of Santiago De Cuba, Cuba 1 reportMore
11 Jul 9:13 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 12, 2021 01:13 GMT)
3.6

22 km
1250 km (777 mi)29 Km ESE of Santiago De Cuba, Cuba 5 reportsMore
30 May 3:29 am (GMT -5) (May 30, 2021 08:29 GMT)
4.1

10 km
1005 km (624 mi)66 Km SW of Niquero, Cuba More
2021-04-15 21:15:57 (Apr 16, 2021 03:15 GMT)
3.7

2 km
1104 km (686 mi)65 Km Al Sureste De Marea Del Portillo, Cuba More
Jan 17, 2021 01:19 GMT
3.5

10 km
1208 km (751 mi)31 Km SW of Guantánamo, Cuba More
2020-09-18 00:56:36 (Sep 18, 2020 06:56 GMT)
4.3

14 km
1159 km (720 mi)43 km west of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba 1 reportMore
Jul 24, 2020 19:11 GMT
5.1

10 km
990 km (615 mi)Cuba Region 1 reportMore
2020-07-10 12:08:53 (Jul 10, 2020 18:08 GMT)
3.6

10 km
1004 km (624 mi)210 km northwest of Kingston, St. Andrew Parish, Jamaica, Cuba More
2020-06-20 06:59:18 (Jun 20, 2020 12:59 GMT)
3.5

18 km
1104 km (686 mi)33 km south of Bartolomé Masó, Granma, Cuba More
2020-06-18 10:09:29 (Jun 18, 2020 16:09 GMT)
3.5

15 km
1127 km (700 mi)75 km west of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba More
2020-05-30 05:15:56 (May 30, 2020 11:15 GMT)
3.4

15 km
453 km (281 mi)04 Km al noreste de Jamaica (Cuba) More
2020-05-23 01:39:53 (May 23, 2020 07:39 GMT)
3.3

4 km
453 km (281 mi)195 Km al noreste de Jamaica (Cuba) More
2020-05-18 04:36:25 (May 18, 2020 10:36 GMT)
3.8

15 km
461 km (286 mi)81 km west of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba More
2020-05-18 01:29:22 (May 18, 2020 07:29 GMT)
3.8

11 km
454 km (282 mi)77 km southwest of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba More
2020-05-18 02:18:07 -05:00 (May 18, 2020 07:18 GMT)
4.3

10 km
443 km (275 mi)67 km southwest of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba 1 reportMore
2020-05-18 00:13:01 (May 18, 2020 06:13 GMT)
3.6

17 km
456 km (283 mi)73 km west of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1015 joules (662 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5.7 x 105 tons of TNT or 35.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Mount Denham, Jamaica (MTDJ/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Mount Denham, Jamaica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Bajamo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Bajamo?

The last earthquake in Bajamo occurred 3 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.0 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 59 km north of Puerto Padre, Las Tunas, Cuba, on Tuesday, Nov 8, 2022 at 6:33 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Bajamo since 1900?

Since 1900, Bajamo, Provincia Granma, Cuba had 128 quakes up to magnitude 6.8.

What was the strongest quake in Bajamo since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Bajamo since 1900 occurred 31 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.8 earthquake - 57 km southwest of Niquero, Provincia Granma, Cuba, on Monday, May 25, 1992 at 16:55 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 30, 2022 01:55 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings