Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Colonia City, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 17, 2022 11:57 GMT -
Over the past 24 hours, Colonia had 3 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.2 in or near Colonia. Look up quakes in the past 30 days!

Latest quake: Mag. 0.4 | Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE) -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 1.2 | Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE) -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Colonia, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (updated )

Past 24 hours:1 quake
Past 7 days:4 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 30 days:31 quakes | 3 quakes M2+
Past 90 days:92 quakes | 16 quakes M2+
Past 365 days:200 quakes | 34 quakes M2+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 17, 2022 6:02 am (GMT +2) (May 17, 2022 04:02 GMT)
0.4

15 km
Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE) MoreMap
May 17, 2022 3:40 am (GMT +2) (May 17, 2022 01:40 GMT)
0.6

16 km
Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE) MoreMap
May 17, 2022 3:38 am (GMT +2) (May 17, 2022 01:38 GMT)
1.2

16 km
Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE) MoreMap
Monday, May 16, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 17, 2022 12:06 am (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 22:06 GMT)
?

n/a
Wallonia, Belgium, 34 km east of Libreville, Ardennes, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 12:05 am (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 22:05 GMT)
?

n/a
Hesse, 1.6 km north of Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
May 16, 2022 11:02 pm (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 21:02 GMT)
?

n/a
3.5 km northwest of Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.7 x 106 joules (1.31 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Colonia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Colonia?

The last earthquake in Colonia occurred 8 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.4 earthquake - Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE), on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 6:02 am (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Colonia today?

In the past 24 hours, Colonia City, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany had 6 quakes up to magnitude 1.2.

What was the strongest quake in Colonia today?

The strongest earthquake in Colonia today occurred 10 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.2 earthquake - Germany: Bad Schwalbach (Hessen, DE), on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 3:38 am (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 11:57 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.