Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Qapqal, Xinjiang, China, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, May 21, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 21, 2022 03:32 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 24 hours, Qapqal was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.8 earthquake occurred in Xinjiang, China, 18 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.3 | 66 km E of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.8 | 105 km NE of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Qapqal, Xinjiang, China (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:34 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 18 quakes M3+ | 15 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:123 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 58 quakes M3+ | 60 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:294 quakes | 15 quakes M2+ | 163 quakes M3+ | 115 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:779 quakes | 41 quakes M2+ | 445 quakes M3+ | 292 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, May 21, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 21, 2022 8:00 am (GMT +8) (May 21, 2022 00:00 GMT)
3.3

10 km
66 km east of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, May 20, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
May 21, 2022 2:14 am (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 18:14 GMT)
4.0

10 km
Xinjiang, 81 km south of Druzhba, Alakol District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 10:13 pm (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 14:13 GMT)
4.0

10 km
51 km west of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:54 pm (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 11:54 GMT)
4.0

10 km
106 km southwest of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 11:40 GMT)
3.8

10 km
85 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 6:39 pm (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 10:39 GMT)
3.0

10 km
102 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 5:46 pm (GMT +8) (May 20, 2022 09:46 GMT)
4.8

10 km
105 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1012 joules (341 megawatt hours, equivalent to 294 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Qapqal Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Qapqal?

The last earthquake in Qapqal occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - 66 km east of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China, on Saturday, May 21, 2022 at 8:00 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Qapqal today?

In the past 24 hours, Qapqal, Xinjiang, China had 7 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Qapqal today?

The strongest earthquake in Qapqal today occurred 18 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - 105 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 5:46 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 21, 2022 03:32 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.