Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Pretoria, City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa, past 30 days

Updated 7 Mar 2021 04:01 GMT -
There were 6 quakes of magnitude 2.0+ in or near Pretoria during the past 30 days, the largest largest being a 2.9 event.
Biggest quake: 2.9 quake 5.2 km east of Randfontein, South Africa, 7 Feb 2021 7:38 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake 11 km northwest of Westonaria, South Africa, 3 Mar 2021 11:10 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 11:10 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 21:10:04 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2004 km)11 km northwest of Westonaria, South Africa MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2021-02-23 17:02:38 SAST (GMT+02:00) (23 Feb 2021 15:02:38 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(1936 km)City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, Gauteng, 22 km northeast of Delmas, South Africa MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 7:05 pm (GMT +2) (21 Feb 2021 17:05:58 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(1989 km)5.6 km east of Randfontein, South Africa MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 8:24 pm (GMT +2) (19 Feb 2021 18:24:14 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2016 km)10.4 km east of Carletonville, South Africa MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 11:54 pm (GMT +2) (8 Feb 2021 21:54:31 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(1990 km)6.7 km east of Randfontein, South Africa 2 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 7:38 pm (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 17:38:11 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(1990 km)5.2 km east of Randfontein, South Africa 10 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 109 joules (966 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.832 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.