Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.9 earthquake Philippine Sea, Kagoshima, Japan -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 5.0 Philippine Sea, Kagoshima, Japan - Feb 5, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 3, 2024 02:48 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Ōita, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Ōita in the past 24 hours.
In the past 30 days, Ōita has had 14 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 5.0 within up to 100 km (63 mi) distance:
  • 0 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Latest today: Mag. 2.9 Earthquake Philippine Sea, 22 km SE of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan -
Strongest: Mag. 5.0 Earthquake Philippine Sea, 42 km E of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (67 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 3, 07:29 am (GMT +9)
Mar 2, 22:29 GMT
2.9

14 km
299 km (186 mi) to the S Philippine Sea, 22 km southeast of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan Info
Mar 2, 02:00 pm (universal)
Mar 2, 14:00 GMT
4.5

23 km
102 km (64 mi) to the S 31 km south of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
Info
Friday, March 1, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Mar 2, 01:35 am (GMT +9)
Mar 1, 16:35 GMT
3.0

43 km
89 km (55 mi) to the NE Inland Sea of Japan, 39 km southwest of Matsuyama, Ehime, Japan
I FELT IT - 3 reports
Info
Mar 1, 05:52 pm (GMT +9)
Mar 1, 08:52 GMT
2.7

10.5 km
44 km (27 mi) to the SW 15 km northeast of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan Info
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 29, 10:38 pm (GMT +9)
Feb 29, 13:38 GMT
2.5

9.1 km
231 km (143 mi) to the SE Philippine Sea, 186 km east of Miyazaki, Miyazaki, Japan Info
Feb 29, 08:28 pm (GMT +9)
Feb 29, 11:28 GMT
3.4

23 km
171 km (106 mi) to the S Philippine Sea, 56 km east of Miyazaki, Miyazaki, Japan
I FELT IT
Info
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 29, 05:41 am (GMT +9)
Feb 28, 20:41 GMT
2.9

173 km
244 km (151 mi) to the SW 34 km southwest of Kagoshima, Kagoshima, Japan Info
Feb 28, 02:20 pm (GMT +9)
Feb 28, 05:20 GMT
2.5

4.7 km
266 km (165 mi) to the SW East China Sea, 35 km west of Makurazaki, Kagoshima, Japan Info
Feb 28, 10:31 am (GMT +9)
Feb 28, 01:31 GMT
2.7

161 km
235 km (146 mi) to the SW 26 km south of Kagoshima, Kagoshima, Japan Info
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 28, 12:39 am (GMT +9)
Feb 27, 15:39 GMT
3.0

169 km
248 km (154 mi) to the SW 38 km southwest of Kagoshima, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
Info
Feb 27, 07:17 pm (GMT +9)
Feb 27, 10:17 GMT
2.8

145 km
237 km (147 mi) to the SW 27 km south of Kagoshima, Kagoshima, Japan Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1012 joules (1.15 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 988 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Ōita Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Oita Nakatsue (JNU/JP network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Oita Nakatsue: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,400 quakes on average per year in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan:
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.06 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 16.7 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 13 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 82 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 218 quakes per year (or 18.2 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 247 quakes per year (or 20.6 quakes per month)
Ōita has a high level of seismic activity. Ōita has had at least 8 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 15 to 20 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan, by magnitude

7 days
30 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (25%)
3+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (50%)
2+
1 quake
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (25%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (14 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (14.29%)
3+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (35.71%)
2+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (50%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (151 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.3%)
3+
41 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (27.15%)
2+
102 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (67.55%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (644 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.16%)
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.31%)
4+
26 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.04%)
3+
206 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (31.99%)
2+
409 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (63.51%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3,444 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.06%)
5+
20 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.58%)
4+
118 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.43%)
3+
703 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (20.41%)
2+
1,383 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (40.16%)
below M2
1,218 quakes
(35.37%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days4 quakesno data121---
Past 30 days14 quakesno data752---
Past 365 days151 quakesno data102418---
Past 3 years644 quakesno data4092062621-
Past 10 years3,444 quakes2991,383703118202-
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 100 km (62 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Ōita Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan?

Ōita has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,400 quakes on average per year in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan. Ōita has had at least 8 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 15 to 20 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Ōita?

The last earthquake in Ōita occurred 4 hours ago and had a magnitude of 2.9:

A light magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of Kagoshima,  Japan, in the morning of Sunday, Mar 3, 2024 at 7.29 am local time (GMT +9). The quake had a very shallow depth of 13.7 km (9 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Ōita in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Ōita has been shaken by 0 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Ōita in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Ōita in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 5.0 and occurred 4 weeks ago:

Mag. 5.0 earthquake Philippine Sea, Kagoshima, Japan - Feb 5, 2024 -

A strong magnitude 5.0 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  Japan in the afternoon of Monday, Feb 5, 2024 at 5.30 pm local time (GMT +9). The quake had a shallow depth of 39 km (24 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 6.3 earthquake Philippine Sea, Kumamoto, Japan - Jan 22, 2022 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.3 earthquake that hit Oita,  Japan, 2 years ago on Saturday, Jan 22, 2022, at 01:08 am (GMT +9).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 6.9 earthquake Philippine Sea, Miyazaki, Japan - Aug 7, 1984 -
40 years ago, Miyazaki,  Japan, was hit by a magnitude 6.9 quake on Tuesday, Aug 7, 1984, at 04:06 am (GMT +9). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes near Ōita (within 100 km/62 mi) in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jan 21, 2022 16:08 GMT
Jan 22, 2022 01:08 am (GMT +9)
6.3

39 km
68 km (42 mi) to the SE Philippine Sea, Oita, 105 km east of Kyūshū Island, Kumamoto, Japan 90 reportsInfo
Jul 17, 2021 11:50 GMT
Jul 17, 2021 08:50 pm (GMT +9)
5.7

78 km
51 km (32 mi) to the NE Inland Sea of Japan, Oita, 46 km south of Tokuyama, Yamaguchi, Japan 75 reportsInfo
Apr 18, 2016 11:41 GMT
Apr 18, 2016 08:41 pm (GMT +9)
5.6

7.9 km
46 km (28 mi) to the SW 13 km northeast of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan 3 reportsInfo
Apr 15, 2016 18:55 GMT
Apr 16, 2016 03:55 am (GMT +9)
5.5

10 km
51 km (32 mi) to the SW 7.9 km east of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan 1 reportInfo
Apr 15, 2016 18:03 GMT
Apr 16, 2016 03:03 am (GMT +9)
5.5

13 km
58 km (36 mi) to the SW 2.5 km north of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan Info
Apr 15, 2016 16:46 GMT
Apr 16, 2016 01:46 am (GMT +9)
5.7

40 km
77 km (48 mi) to the SW 3.5 km southeast of Ōzu, Kumamoto, Japan 1 reportInfo
Apr 14, 2016 15:03 GMT
Apr 15, 2016 12:03 am (GMT +9)
5.6

1.8 km
95 km (59 mi) to the SW 14 km southeast of Kumamoto, Kumamoto, Japan Info
Jul 12, 2015 17:52 GMT
Jul 13, 2015 02:52 am (GMT +9)
5.5

66 km
24 km (15 mi) to the SE 10.7 km southwest of Usuki, Oita, Japan 5 reportsInfo
Mar 13, 2014 17:06 GMT
Mar 14, 2014 02:06 am (GMT +9)
6.3

83 km
52 km (32 mi) to the N Inland Sea of Japan, Oita, 31 km west of Amata-jima Island, Japan 11 reportsInfo
Mar 13, 2014 17:06 GMT
Mar 14, 2014 02:06 am (GMT +9)
5.6

79 km
55 km (34 mi) to the N Inland Sea of Japan, Oita, 25 km west of Amata-jima Island, Japan Info
Jun 11, 2006 20:01 GMT
Jun 11, 2006 08:01 pm (universal)
6.3

140 km
44 km (27 mi) to the W Kumamoto, 16 km south of Tsukawaki, Oita, Japan Info
Aug 6, 1984 19:06 GMT
Aug 7, 1984 04:06 am (GMT +9)
6.9

46 km
100 km (62 mi) to the S Philippine Sea, 34 km southeast of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan Info
Aug 25, 1983 20:23 GMT
Aug 26, 1983 05:23 am (GMT +9)
6.5

126 km
32 km (20 mi) to the N 26 km north of Beppu, Oita, Japan Info
Apr 20, 1975 17:35 GMT
Apr 21, 1975 02:35 am (GMT +9)
6.1

7 km
28 km (18 mi) to the W 28 km west of Ōita, Oita, Japan Info
Aug 5, 1968 16:17 GMT
Aug 6, 1968 01:17 am (GMT +9)
6.8

46 km
55 km (34 mi) to the E Philippine Sea, 34 km west of Uwajima, Ehime, Japan Info
Mar 20, 1939 03:22 GMT
Mar 20, 1939 12:22 pm (GMT +9)
6.7

25 km
81 km (50 mi) to the S 8.7 km south of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Ōita, Oita, Japan

[smaller] [bigger]
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings