Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Yamagata, Japan, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 12:44 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Yamagata had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A weak magnitude 3.7 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Japan, 22 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 87 km SE of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.7 | North Pacific Ocean, 94 km SE of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Yamagata, Japan (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:73 quakes | 45 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:333 quakes | 222 quakes M2+ | 102 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,800 quakes | 1,145 quakes M2+ | 556 quakes M3+ | 91 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:2,997 quakes | 1,913 quakes M2+ | 906 quakes M3+ | 161 quakes M4+ | 15 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 19, 2022 9:22 pm (GMT +9) (May 19, 2022 12:22 GMT)
3.0

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 19, 2022 6:25 pm (GMT +9) (May 19, 2022 09:25 GMT)
2.7

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 9:21 am (GMT +9) (May 19, 2022 00:21 GMT)
2.5

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
May 19, 2022 8:23 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 23:23 GMT)
2.6

41 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 5:21 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 20:21 GMT)
2.6

58 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 3:52 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 18:52 GMT)
3.5

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 19, 2022 3:31 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 18:31 GMT)
2.6

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:17 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 14:17 GMT)
3.7

52 km
North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1010 joules (10.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.12 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Yamagata Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Yamagata?

The last earthquake in Yamagata occurred 22 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 9:22 pm (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Yamagata today?

In the past 24 hours, Yamagata, Japan had 8 quakes up to magnitude 3.7.

What was the strongest quake in Yamagata today?

The strongest earthquake in Yamagata today occurred 22 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.7 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 11:17 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 12:44 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.