Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 25, 2022 22:37 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Turrialba was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.3, 6 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1 quake of magnitude 2.9.
A moderate magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, 4 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | 16 km NW of San Isidro, Pérez Zeledon, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 29 km SW of San Isidro, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:46 quakes | 18 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:142 quakes | 56 quakes M2+ | 72 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:366 quakes | 154 quakes M2+ | 189 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:1,265 quakes | 542 quakes M2+ | 651 quakes M3+ | 57 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 25, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 21:22 GMT)
3.4

3 km
16 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 1:25 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 19:25 GMT)
?

n/a
14 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 18:49 GMT)
3.0

20 km
6.1 km northeast of San Carlos, Departamento de Rio San Juan, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:48 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 18:48 GMT)
4.3

6.3 km
North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 9 reports
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 10:12 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 16:12 GMT)
2.9

4 km
16 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 8:37 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 14:37 GMT)
3.1

3 km
17 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 5:04 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 11:04 GMT)
3.2

3 km
17 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:07 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 06:07 GMT)
3.0

28 km
28 km northwest of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 24, 2022 7:22 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 01:22 GMT)
3.1

5 km
24 km south of Ciudad Cortés, Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1011 joules (55.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 48 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Turrialba Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Turrialba?

The last earthquake in Turrialba occurred 1 hour and 16 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - 16 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica, on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 3:22 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Turrialba today?

In the past 24 hours, Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica had 9 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Turrialba today?

The strongest earthquake in Turrialba today occurred 4 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica, on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 12:48 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 25, 2022 22:37 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.