Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 23, 2021 16:34 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Manaia, South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Oct 23, 2021 16:34 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Manaia was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.9, 1 quake of magnitude 3.2, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.9 quake North Island, 73 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand, Oct 22, 2021 10:58 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.3 quake Stratford District, 52 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand, Oct 23, 2021 6:46 am (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 1.7 quake North Island, 74 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand, Oct 24, 2021 5:17 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 16:17 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 5:17 am (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 16:17 GMT)
1.7

21 km
57 km (35 mi)North Island, 74 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 11:48 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 10:48 GMT)
2.1

188 km
103 km (64 mi)Tasman Sea, 161 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 11:15 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 10:15 GMT)
2.0

189 km
29 km (18 mi)South Taranaki District, 53 km south of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 1:19 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 23, 2021 00:19 GMT)
2.2

81 km
92 km (57 mi)Tasman Sea, 77 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 17:46 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 6:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 17:46 GMT)
2.3

20 km
50 km (31 mi)Stratford District, 52 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 8:38 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 07:38 GMT)
2.4

26 km
55 km (34 mi)Stratford District, 57 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 5:06 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 04:06 GMT)
2.1

131 km
101 km (63 mi)Tasman Sea, 159 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 21:58 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 22, 2021 10:58 am (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 21:58 GMT)
5.9

210 km
62 km (39 mi)North Island, 73 km east of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 131 reports
MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 6:22 am (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 17:22 GMT)
2.1

114 km
72 km (45 mi)Tasman Sea, 97 km south of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 8:54 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 07:54 GMT)
2.1

125 km
44 km (27 mi)South Taranaki District, 63 km southeast of Nueva Plymouth, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 6:20 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 05:20 GMT)
1.8

19 km
56 km (35 mi)North Island, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 23:26 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 21, 2021 12:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 23:26 GMT)
1.7

12 km
103 km (64 mi)Tasman Sea, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 5:57 am (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 16:57 GMT)
2.1

129 km
32 km (20 mi)South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 2:11 am (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 13:11 GMT)
2.3

18 km
61 km (38 mi)North Island, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 2:14 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 01:14 GMT)
1.9

133 km
51 km (32 mi)South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 21:46 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 20, 2021 10:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 21:46 GMT)
2.2

77 km
76 km (47 mi)Tasman Sea, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 6:24 am (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 17:24 GMT)
2.1

192 km
35 km (22 mi)South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 11:55 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 19, 2021 10:55 GMT)
2.9

194 km
37 km (23 mi)South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 06:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 7:00 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 18, 2021 06:00 GMT)
3.2

96 km
85 km (53 mi)Tasman Sea, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 16:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 5:44 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 16:44 GMT)
1.7

79 km
69 km (43 mi)South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.5 x 1013 joules (12.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 10678 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.