Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 11:49 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 20 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 31 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 214 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 413 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Prince Rupert has had 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 20 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 31 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 214 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 413 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | British Columbia, Canada -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.4 | 37 km S of Graham Island, Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District, British Columbia, Canada -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1 or higher (680 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 26, 2022 04:28 GMT
2.0

10 km
164 km (102 mi)Canada: 26 Km SW of Masset, BC More
Nov 20, 2022 5:41 am (GMT -8) (Nov 20, 2022 13:41 GMT)
2.3

5 km
115 km (71 mi)Canada: 31 Km E of Masset, BC More
Nov 17, 2022 12:50 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 17, 2022 20:50 GMT)
2.1

21 km
243 km (151 mi)Canada: 49 Km SW of Village of Queen Charlotte, BC More
Nov 17, 2022 3:15 am (GMT -8) (Nov 17, 2022 11:15 GMT)
1.9

24 km
237 km (147 mi)Canada: 38 Km SW of Village of Queen Charlotte, BC More
Nov 4, 2022 09:33 GMT
2.0

17 km
131 km (81 mi)Canada: 33 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Nov 4, 2022 09:30 GMT
2.0

6 km
128 km (80 mi)Canada: 36 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Nov 4, 2022 05:28 GMT
2.1

7 km
131 km (81 mi)Canada: 34 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Nov 4, 2022 04:13 GMT
1.9

12 km
129 km (80 mi)Canada: 33 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Nov 3, 2022 11:42 am (GMT -7) (Nov 3, 2022 18:42 GMT)
1.9

16 km
252 km (157 mi)Canada: Queen Charlotte Islands Region More
Nov 1, 2022 4:12 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 1, 2022 23:12 GMT)
2.1

5 km
129 km (80 mi)Canada: Queen Charlotte Islands Region More
Nov 1, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 1, 2022 20:05 GMT)
2.4

5 km
130 km (81 mi)Canada: Queen Charlotte Islands Region More
Nov 1, 2022 2:39 am (GMT -7) (Nov 1, 2022 09:39 GMT)
1.8

20 km
162 km (101 mi)Canada: 17 Km N of Port Clements, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 19:36 GMT
2.0

10 km
130 km (81 mi)Canada: 36 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 13:24 GMT
1.8

10 km
127 km (79 mi)Canada: 32 Km E of Masset, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 12:01 GMT
1.8

10 km
134 km (83 mi)Canada: 38 Km NE of Port Clements, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 11:40 GMT
3.3

10 km
130 km (81 mi)Canada: 37 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 08:44 GMT
2.0

10 km
128 km (80 mi)Canada: 39 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 12:17 am (GMT -7) (Oct 21, 2022 07:17 GMT)
2.2

3 km
130 km (81 mi)Canada: 36 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 21, 2022 12:10 am (GMT -7) (Oct 21, 2022 07:10 GMT)
1.6

10 km
130 km (81 mi)Canada: 33 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 20, 2022 11:51 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 21, 2022 06:51 GMT)
1.8

5 km
131 km (81 mi)Canada: 36 Km SE of Masset, BC More
Oct 20, 2022 11:30 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 21, 2022 06:30 GMT)
1.9

10 km
133 km (83 mi)Canada: Queen Charlotte Islands Region More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1013 joules (4.9 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4214 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ketchikan, AK, USA (V35K/AK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ketchikan, AK, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Prince Rupert Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Prince Rupert?

The last earthquake in Prince Rupert occurred 13 days ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - British Columbia, Canada, on Saturday, November 26, 2022 at 04:28 GMT.

How many quakes were there in Prince Rupert since 1900?

Since 1900, Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada had 680 quakes up to magnitude 5.4.

What was the strongest quake in Prince Rupert since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Prince Rupert since 1900 occurred 10 years ago: Strong mag. 5.4 earthquake - 37 km south of Graham Island, Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District, British Columbia, Canada, on Sat, 27 Oct 2012 21:26 (America/Vancouver).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 9, 2022 08:32 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings